Pineapple Almost Ready to Harvest

DSCN1982

I have 4 plants in my garden.  Last year one produced a small pineapple and now has little plants growing around where the old plant was.  It died back after the pineapple was picked.  New plants came out of the base.  This year I have 2 plants that have produced fruit. Both of these are twice the size of the one from last year.  It was the first year I had one. These two are just a little smaller then what you find in the stores.

DSCN1983

This is the second one.

I am going to let then stay on the plant a few more days and keep an eye on them.  We are getting lots of rain and it is raining now.  It is suppose to rain tomorrow like to day.  This will help the fruit get a little larger as they start to ripen.

I have 2 more pineapple plants to put in the ground that I started from tops last summer.  They are easy to start from the tops of a pineapple that you buy at the grocery.  I live in South Florida so they grow well here out side. All I do is grab a hold of the top of the pineapple and twist it from the fruit.  The top will now have a pointed end that came out of the fruit. I peal a few layers of leaves off the bottom.  Then I place that in a jar of water up to the bottom of the first row of leaves.

DSCN0965

It will start to root in a couple of weeks.  Once I have some roots I plant the top in a pot of rich potting soil.  I keep it on my porch and let it produce a nice plant.

DSCN1991

These two are ready to plant. They may produce fruit next year.  It takes two years to produce fruit from a top.  It takes 5 years to produce pineapple from seed.  Most of the fruit we find at the market don’t have many seeds because they have been hybridized not to be so seedy. They used to be loaded with little black seeds just inside the skin. I only see a few seeds now inside the fruit.

I should have enough to make a batch of pineapple jam.  I make some every year.  It is so much cheaper to make it yourself. It also taste better. You can find my recipe for this jam here.

DSCN0982

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Quiltmouse says:

    I saw my first potted pineapple plant in the grocery store the other day with a small (softball size) pineapple growing and I almost bought it. Doubt that it would grow in the mid-Atlantic states, but was wondering how it would do and if it would produce fruit if I had it outside in the summer and brought it inside for the winter. Love pineapple. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I see no reason why you can’t. Bring it in when it starts to frost and then keep it in a sunny place. Spritz it with a spray of water for humidity. When it warms back up set it out side. Keep it watered.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. C B says:

      I live near Chicago and this year my pineapple plant finally sprouted a fruit! It took about 3, maybe 4 years and I started it from the top of a store bought pineapple. I can hardly wait for it to be ripe enough to eat! I took it in every winter and left it on my porch all summer. I hope this helps you decide whether or not to get one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. trkingmomoe says:

        It will take about a month to start looking big. Don’t pick until it shows a little yellow at the bottom of the pineapple. It needs water for the fruit. Just be patient. Thank you for your comment.

        Like

  2. How perfect! I used to grow pineapples but stooped in my old age….should give it a shot. A few years ago we visited Lanai, Hawaii, the pineapple island an found the fields to be so amazing. I hear the island has been bought be resort conglomerates and they will be turning all the fields into hotel resorts…..oh well. Guess it will be good to know how to grow your own pineapples in the future.

    Like

  3. ……and I forgot to say, congratulations! You have mastered the art of growing these beautiful and unique fruits!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You are welcome. I still haven’t mastered all this new soft ware changes on wordpress.

      Like

  4. Loretta says:

    How wonderful, the pineapples look gorgeous! That jam does sound lovely too 🙂

    Like

  5. Janie Kemp says:

    I never saw a pineapple plant before. Yours are beautiful. Thank you for sharing how you start your new plants. I’m just smiling and smiling!

    Like

  6. trkingmomoe says:

    thank you for stopping in. There are many who have never seen how a pineapple grows. They grow good in sub tropical places that have soil that drains well. All you have to do is plant them and feed then once in a great while. They do this all on their own.

    Like

  7. Wow! I never realized you could grow pineapple in Southern Florida. I thought this post was very exciting and your jam looks wonderful!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You can actually grow them as a house plant. Take them out side after the frost is over and bring them in during the winter. There is a bunch of you tube videos on it.

      In the early 20th century there was pineapple plantations in Florida then a blight hit them and the farmers stopped growing them. They make a nice free landscape plant here.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment