Zucchini Pie Recipe

DSCN1947

This recipe has been around for several decades.  I know I made it years ago and it must of come from a Bisquick advertisement or off the back of the box.  It has been so long that I have forgotten. I recently seen a recipe for it using sliced zucchini that it reminded me to hunt down my recipe for it. I found it in a recipe box of clipped recipes and folded papers with recipes scribbled on them.  I do copy recipes onto cards when they are recipes that I like and make.  This one had long been forgotten because a certain family member made a big fuss because it had a green vegetable in it. I have been rediscovering great recipes that I had that was banned by a picky eater.

I had received a container of shaved parmesan cheese a few weeks ago and I didn’t quite know how I was going to use this wonderful imported Italian cheese.  It sell by date had been expired but the cheese was still perfectly good.  Parmesan cheese has a long shelf life because it is a hard cheese. This container had been donated by a local grocery, that could no longer sell it, to the food pantry.  The zucchini pie recipe called for grated  parmesan cheese.  This would make a great compliment to the oxtail soup I had planned. I could also be a meatless main course.

When I was a child, beef bones and oxtail was very cheap at the butcher’s.  The bones with a little meat was sold to make broth out of for soup.  Now oxtail is not cheap in the area I live but twice the cost of neck bones or a piece of shank with a little meat.  I guess it has become a gourmet food along with kale. To make the rich dark beef broth the trick is to roast the bones with the little bit of meat still on it first, until the bones are dark almost burnt looking. You then simmer them with onion and herbs to make the broth.  The meat will soften and fall off the bone.  This can be done over night in a crock pot or simmered on the stove for a couple of hours.  Then remove the bones and make your favorite soup. I usually make enough stock to freeze some for later soup.

I also keep quick cooking barley or longer cooking pearl barley to use in beef soup.  It simply makes a harder soup with the grain. I was taught to simply make soup to taste with what ever you had on hand.  There was no soup recipes handed down.  Soup making was an art that got passed down. You were taught the basics and the rest was left up to your own creativity. There was always a relative’s special soup that was repeated often or Mom’s vegetable beef soup made with just certain vegetables.   But that was the closest thing to a recipe for soup.  You can always find recipes for soup in cookbooks that you can follow.

Zucchini pie is really a different kind of side dish.  It is a cross of a casserole and a quick bread. It has a texture similar to a quiche with out a pastry crust. It has a wonderful flavor from all the ingredients that makes this unique. It is one of those dishes that you either love it or hate it. I made mine in a iron skillet instead of a pie dish.  I have 2 iron skillets that are devoted to baking in.  All my other iron pots I gave away after I got my glass top stove.

Zucchini Pie

  • Servings: 6-8 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 cup of biscuit baking mix
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese or shaved parmesan cheese
  • 3 cups of grated zucchini (2 medium zucchini)
  • 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion.

Directions:

Preheat oven 350 degrees and prepare 9 inch pie pan with vegetable spray. I heated a iron cast skillet in the oven and sprayed it just before I put batter in it.

Beat eggs and oil with mixer until blended. Add salt, parsley, pepper and minced garlic and continue mixing. Add biscuit mix slowly and mix for 30 seconds. Stir in cheese, zucchini and onion.  Pour in prepared pan.  Bake for 25 minutes in pie pan or until golden brown on top. An iron skillet took 5 minutes longer but gave it a nice crust. Cool for 5 minutes before cutting.

DSCN1944

I served this with beef oxtail soup.

DSCN1948

8 Comments Add yours

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    I’ll have to try making broth that way! Sounds extra good. I agree about soup recipes. I use them sometimes, but have fun improvising mostly. The zucchini recipe is timely as they are about to multiply.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Give it a try. There are other variation of this pie on the internet, so look around for the right one that you can serve.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  2. Oh, I remember this zucchini pie from my youth! Yes, I do believe it is time to bring it back. I remember that it was good hot, room temperature and even cold!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It didn’t last long around here.

      Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  3. Quiltmouse says:

    Thank you for the recipe. Our plants are just beginning to flower, so looking forward to our home grown produce and know I will be trying it in this recipe!

    Like

  4. trkingmomoe says:

    It is surprisingly good. Thanks for stopping in.

    Like

  5. slfinnell says:

    My garden has several zucchini plants nearly ready to bloom Thanks for the recipe and pics.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping in. It has a different texture but it is really tasty.

      Like

Leave a Reply

