German Potato Salad and Pineapple Casserole

DSCN1997

I was lucky and last week bought a ham for just a dollar a pound.  I was going to freeze it for a special occasion but the family begged me to cook it today for Sunday dinner.  This was a fully cooked ham so I had to come up with the fixings to go with it since I had not planned for it. I settled on German potato salad and pineapple casserole.  I had everything I needed for both.

My cooking heritage is Pennsylvania Dutch so I was taught to make it by taste.  It was just something that was handed down to me.  The same thing I do for soup. I took care to measure so I could share this recipe.  German potato salad has an old fashion sweet and sour dressing made from the drippings of bacon fat.  It smells wonderful and I get compliments every time I serve it.

German Potato Salad

  • Servings: 8 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

German Potato Salad

  • 2 – 3 pounds of potatoes (boiled with skins on until tender)
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onions
  • 1/3 cup vinegar
  • 1/4 cup  sugar
  • 2/3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Green onion to garnish

Peal cooked potatoes and slice in bite size pieces.  Add a little salt and pepper directly to the potatoes.

Fry bacon until crisp.  Remove.  I usually just lay them on the potatoes to cool so I can crumble them.

In the skillet with the bacon grease add onions and cook until translucent.  Take a 1/3 cup of water and stir in the cornstarch and set aside.  Add the rest of the water to the skillet with onions in it. Stir for a minute to loosen all the brown bits from the skillet.  Now add the vinegar and sugar then stir in the cornstarch mixture.  Cook until thickened slightly.

Crumble bacon on top of potatoes and add the hot dressing.  Gently stir and garnish with chopped green onion.  Serve warm or cold.

DSCN2002

Pineapple Casserole

I found this recipe on line and thought I would try it.  It was a recipe that was being passed around on Face Book.  In spring this is a recipe that is shared for Easter dinner that is traditional side dish to go with ham.  It is a simple recipe and is a great way to use up bread.  I used cracked wheat bread but you can use any kind that you have on hand. There are only 4 ingredients. I saved the juice from the crushed pineapple and added it to ice tea that I made.  My family thought the casserole was dessert but it is a good fruit side dish.  It has a nice crunch and buttery taste. This recipe is from Aubrey of Real Housemom’s and you can find it at her site.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Quiltmouse says:

    I’ve never heard of a Pineapple Casserole, but love all things Pineapple. I’ll have to add this to my “Try It” List! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      A couple of years ago I saw a reference to it in a blog about Easter dinner. It had to do with childhood memories. I have seen it a few more times since then but no recipe. This week end on Face Book the recipe was being passed around. I thought since I had on hand what was needed to make it I would try it. It is really good. I just added to my recipe card this recipe to make it again.

      Thanks for stopping in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

