Blackberry Wine Cake

 

If you want to make a cake or cup cakes that everyone will love and want your recipe, I have the recipe for you, blackberry wine cake. You make it with a sweet blackberry wine. This is one of my favorites to share with friends and family. I always make it for bake sales, then refuse to give the recipe. That is because I like to make them think that it is very difficult which is a good selling point. Of coarse it tastes and smells good. When I make it into cup cakes, I frost with chocolate frosting which makes the blackberry flavor stand out. But it does make a beautiful rich dessert cake baked in a bundt pan and covered in wine glaze.

Blackberry Wine Cake

  • Servings: 12 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Blackberry Wine Cake

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 1 (3oz.) package of blackberry gelatin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sweet blackberry wine (Manischewitz)
  • ½ cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare bundt pan with vegetable spray.

In a large mixing bowl combine all ingredients and mix on medium speed for 2 or 3 minutes. Pour in prepared pan. Bake bundt cake for 45 minutes until top springs back when touched. Cup cakes are baked for 22 minutes or until done.

Wine Glaze

  • 2/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup blackberry wine

Mix together in a small pan and heat until hot but not boiling. Let cool slightly and brush on cake while glaze is still warm.

Then sprinkle a little edible glitter on it and you have a easy gorgeous cake that even the most cranky relative will enjoy.

Extra wine glaze was poured over cake and blackberries.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to try this recipe out 🙂 I love the color of the cake too!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  2. shadeydaze says:

    It looks fantastic…the colour is lovely =)

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It really smells good. I like the way the house smells when I bake it. You have to use a very sweet wine for this. Thanks for stopping by. Stay dry with all the rain you had.

      Like

  3. I love this cake and had a neighbor that shared her grandmother’s blackberry wine cake with us every year. Of course, in my childhood, I would hear whispers from adults during the holiday season about cakes and didn’t understand the reason for it. It was because they were using REAL wine in the recipe and did not want to share that with the children. How we have changed.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I was given this recipe in high school by a Jewish family I knew. That was when cooks started experimenting with cake mixes as a quick base to make cakes from wine and spirits. It made it easier then a scratch cake. Pudding and jello was also showing up in cake mix recipes. Your neighbors grandmother probably made hers from scratch. My next door neighbor made cherry liquor every summer with cherries, sugar and vodka. She made a peach whisky too the same way. Her and her lady freinds would get drunk on it while quilting. She did elderberry and dandelion wine too. This was the 1950’s and they were quite old then. She would cook with it also. I hope you enjoy the cake. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. Donal says:

    Beautiful – if it tastes as good as it looks ….

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you, Yes it tastes very, very good. I test everything I post. I makes sure it is inexpensive and ingredients easy to find. I have low cal veggie crackers I made today. I just need to photo them. I had to hide them from my son tonight.

      Like

  5. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FABULOUS!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! I cannot wait to make this. 300 stars!!! I can smell this divine treat you have created.

    Like

      1. By the way the Tin Man is also Chef Emil……hehhehhe

        Like

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow! Gorgeous wine cake!

    Like

  7. trkingmomoe says:

    Coming from you, I take it as a real complement. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

    Like

  8. The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl says:

    That looks gorgeous. I don’t have that type of pan but I want to try this.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is a Norticware Bundt pan. Use just a regular bundt or angel food pan that you have. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Aw…Gee Wiz…Thanks.

      Like

  9. Mummy Bear says:

    Now this is flavour combination I want to try! Brilliant!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      When you make it you will love it. It is a fun cake to bake and share with family and freinds. Everyone that I share it with always wants the recipe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

