French Fried Onion Rings

 

 

There is nothing as good as home made fried onion rings. Especially when they are made from a large sweet onion like Vidalia Sweets, Florida Sweets, Texas Sweets and Hawaiian Sweets. They take a little time to make so plan a simple meal around them. They also make an inexpensive meal special. I also save my frying oil after it cools by straining it into a glass jar to be stored in the refrigerator to be used again for deep frying. Near where I live there is a restaurant that makes the best onion rings and serves them stacked up on a dowel rod stand with a side of sauce for dipping.  I have included my version of this white barbecue sauce.

Batter Dip For Onion Rings

  • Servings: 8 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon paprika

Beat egg and milk together until blended. Add rest of the ingredients and beat until smooth. Enough to do one large onion.

Heat oil in a large deep skillet to 350 degrees. A deep fryer or electric skillet is excellent for this. Cut the large onion in thick slices and separate the rings on a paper towel. Dip rings into batter with fork and coat completely. Gently slip rings into hot oil to keep from splattering. Fry on both sides for a few minutes until golden brown. Remove with tongs or slotted spoon and drain on paper towel. Keep warm in the oven until served. Serve while warm and crisp with the following sauce.

Sauce For Dipping

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • ½ cup cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon paprika

Whisk all the ingredients together until smooth. Chill and serve with onion rings.

This goes well with hot dogs and coleslaw. Make the coleslaw first and chill then it only takes a few minutes after the rings are done to prepare the hot dogs and buns.

TIP: If you are going to use a Spanish onion or yellow onion. Soak the rings in icy cold water for about an hour first and drain on paper towel. This helps to tone down the over powering onion flavor.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Onion rings are a definite favorite and I’ll be giving yours a try, to be sure!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I cook for small kids so I go light on the spice. But you can taste and add some of your favorite zing to the batter. I love your blog and the people who follow you. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl says:

    Looks yummy!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. They are always better home made then the frozen onion rings.

      Like

  3. These look very good. I love Onion Rings but mine never turn out very good. I don’t think I have had very good batters. Yours look very light, The dipping sauce also sounds good.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Sometimes I have to add a little more flour to get it the right consistancy. It depends on the weather I guess. This is a guide line for your batter. I got it out of a really old cookbook years ago. Do a test fry on one and see if you need to thin or thicken the batter. What makes it light is there is no corn meal in it. Some people like to dip the rings in flour first to make the batter cling better but I am a little lazy and I don’t usually do it. It is a basic batter that can be used for most batter fried foods. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  4. I will try your suggestions. Thanks for stopping by my blog as well!

    Like

  5. Chef Emil says:

    Marvelous…….marvelous……….marvelous!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. It is just one of the fun foods to serve.

      Like

  6. rcslife says:

    These look absolutely delicious!!! OMG. I may have to test these out on my roommate!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Give them a try. You can spice them up a little because I cook for kids. You can a little more flour if you want the batter to be thicker or you can add a little milk to thin the batter. When you make them yourself you are in charge of how you want them. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  7. Geraldine says:

    Yum!! These just made me very hungry. They look delicious!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      They are easy to make. You can also find batter mix in the grocery for onion rings. I like Chuckwagon the best, but since I have to watch my budget real close I do my own batter. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you liked them.

      Like

  8. These look fantastic and the dipping sauce? divine! I also really like the plate you have the onion rings on – I just liked everything about this post!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks, I have a collection of brown drip dishes. I started with a 8 place settings when they were still producing them . Years and years later came eBay and the rest is collector history. I bought what I could not afford when I was first married. My kids and grandkids like to torment me about my ugly brown dishes. You just made my day.

      Like

      1. I have a bean pot and bowls that matche yours! I got them as a wedding present back in 1979 – 1980. My kids don’t like mine either – no taste, I say! 🙂

        Like

        1. trkingmomoe says:

          LOL…I bought mine in 1968.

          Like

  9. I eat French Fried onion rings exactly 1 time per year. An extra large helping @ Kreme & Kone on Cape Cod surrounded by my extended family (also eating said onion rings).

    I don’t want to say I HATE the fact that these look so good…but let’s just say, I’ll need to wait about 11 1/2 months before I make them. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you for stopping by. They are good. You are always welcome to stop in any time.

      Like

  10. Love onion rings, and I’m vidalia all the way! Now if I could just figure out how to get rid of that lingering fried smell we would be set. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I light a sented candle on the stove sometimes after I clean up the kitchen that always helps.

      Like

  11. petit4chocolatier says:

    How did this get past me? Wow, I love onion rings; especially homemade. They are the best. These look great and the sauce sounds delicious!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The sauce is what makes it. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

