German Potato Salad (Pantry Cooking)

Warm winter salad that is easy to prepare, that even tastes better the next day.  I used canned sliced potatoes to speed up the cooking time that I have in my pantry.  Sometimes I use a quart of my home canned potatoes.  You can boil your potatoes with the skins on if you are not in a hurry or boil them the day before.    Also, you can stretch this recipe to six servings by adding additional potatoes without increasing the sauce.

I love serving this with a small precooked sliced ham that takes only about a half hour to heat up in the oven.  I just coat the ham with pineapple jam to make it extra special.   Add a green salad and vegetable to complete the meal.

German Potato Salad

  • Servings: 4 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans (15 ounce) sliced potatoes (3 1/2 cups)
  • 4 slices thick cut bacon
  • 2/3 cup diced onion
  • 1/3 cup vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2/3 cup water (potato water)
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Drain sliced potatoes and save liquid.  In a large skillet fry bacon until crisp.  Remove bacon cool and crumble.  In the same skillet add onion and sauté until translucent.  Stir in flour.  Add water, sugar, vinegar and celery seed.  Stir until thickened.  Add potato slices and turn down heat to low. Season to taste.  Let the potatoes heat up about 5 minutes.   Serve warm.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. It is so delicious 😋

    Liked by 2 people

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. Happy New Year!

      Like

  2. So good! This is always a crowd pleaser!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      This is an easy recipe. I hope you are having a nice Holiday Season.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember as a youngster a friend’s mother made this and I just loved it. Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Gail says:

    I like potatoes so it’s nice to eat them prepared differently. 🍃🥔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I enjoy potatoes also. I keep some on the shelf in cans for a quick addition to meals when I am tired. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. slfinnell says:

    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. One of our favorites!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I make it often. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  7. Tammy M says:

    This is an easy and delicious recipe! Thank you for sharing. Just FYI, it is missing to add bacon in when you add the potatoes

    Like

Leave a comment