Simple Little Cookie Stamp and Peanut Butter Cookies

DSCN1710

I was wandering through Walmart the other day waiting for my grand daughter get her hair cut.  So I took a look in the cake decorating isle and found this little cookie stamp by Nordic Ware.  I try to buy something every year from Nordic Ware because all their products are American made.  Only now after 20 + years of doing this I have quite a collection of bake ware and have run out of space to store it.

It started out with me saving Betty Crocker coupons and they offered a Krumkake baker.  I bought it and was delighted with it.  It took some practice but I caught on to how to flip and roll them.  Then I got a 6 cup bundt pan.  You can tell by the color how long ago that was.  The molded aluminum little bundt  was great for just using a box of Jiffy cake mix.  I used Baker’s Choice spray to prep the baking pan like the instructions said that came with the bundt pan.  The little cake slipped right out when inverted.  It was fun getting lots of complements on my cookies and little bundt cake.  I was hooked after that.

DSCN1717

I used my Betty Crocker coupons every year for a charming bundt pan until Betty Crocker stopped the coupons.  Then I just looked on the internet and would pick something that caught my fancy.  In the recent years that I am retired I have found a couple in thrift stores instead of buying new.  The kids have bought me a couple as a Christmas present.  For a few years even Walmart had the bundt pans and offered seasonal shapes.   But this year I found the little cookie stamp.  They have three designs but I could just buy one at $5. I picked the little waffle one.

My grandson was with me and he right away had visions of peanut butter cookies.  I have a few plastic hand cookie stamps  from a long time ago that the little kids like to help me make peanut butter cookies with.  In the process of making the peanut cookies,  the cookie stamp needed a light coating of vegetable spray to keep the dough from sticking.  When the dough started to stick again I would spray it again.  If the dough stuck I would just make the ball over again  and press.  The cookies turned out just beautiful.

Peanut Butter Cookies

  • Servings: 10 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees

Sift together:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder

Cream together:

  • 3/4 cup of shortening or butter flavored shortening
  • 3/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of butter flavored vanilla extract

Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture.  Mix until smooth with mixer.  The dough will be easy to handle and make into balls.  Place balls on cookie sheet and press flat with cookie stamp, fork, or the bottom of a glass.

Bake for 17 minutes large cookies and 12 minutes smaller cookies.  Keep in mind oven’s vary so watch closely your first batch and adjust time to your oven.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Quiltmouse says:

    Love it. Something so simple makes the cookies elegant! Thanks for the recipe. I’m getting in the mood for mu Christmas Cooking.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      They look so professional when they are done. I have since gone out and bought a second stamp. It is quick and fun to do. Thanks for stopping in.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. quilt32 says:

    That’s among the more unusual collections I’ve heard about. Love the collection and would pick up the cookie press myself if I ever happen to see one.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Look around at Walmart. If you google Walmart it will tell you if your local one has the stamps. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one but I haven’t been looking. Will now. Kind of you to share your recipe.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I hope you find one. They are fun to use.

      Like

  4. Dawn says:

    What warm kitchen memories on a very cold day here! Such a fun collection of bake ware to enjoy with your family! ♡

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Don’t see much cold here in South Florida. Thanks for stopping in and commenting.

      Like

  5. Love the stamp but would try it on sugar cookies because my grandson has a peanut allergy. Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It works well with any cookie that you have to flatten with a fork or the bottom of a glass. I hope you find the stamps. Thanks for taking time and commenting.

      Like

  6. KerryCan says:

    That’s very neat–I love the little extra polish it gives the cookies!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. I took a look at your candy on Etsy. They are just beautiful.

      Like

      1. KerryCan says:

        Oh, thanks for looking! It took me quite awhile to get the dipping to the point where it all looks smooth and pretty. Now, it seems so easy!

        Like

  7. Love, love the cookie press!! I’ve never seen one of those, but I’m going to be looking for one… thanks!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is something new that Nordic Ware came out with. Just google it and you will find who has them. Thanks it makes an ordinary cookie look gorgeous.

      Like

      1. thanks! those cookies really were perfect!

        Like

Leave a Reply

