Herbed Rice

My rice container is full from all the rice that is in the food box I get each week.  A friend of mine that live across the country from me came to my rescue with several recipes she sent for me to try out and share with you.  This one is her favorite and I have to agree with her.

In her letter she said, “The aroma while cooking is wonderful.  This great to use with stir fry.  I use water to cook mine as I don’t usually keep broth in my pantry. You could also make broth with a bouillon cube. I don’t keep fresh onions around either so I use a teaspoon or so of dried onion flakes.”

I used beef broth this time because I was serving it with meat loaf. I make my own soup stock and keep it on hand in my freezer. The rice turned out wonderful.  It does smell good while cooking and fills the house with a nice aroma.  I checked at my grocery and found that these herbs are available in small packages in the Latino section.  Buying them in the small packages is an inexpensive alternative to containers. I buy my herbs at an organic bulk food store and just get what I need.  This is also an inexpensive way to keep your spice rack stocked. It is amazing what a few spices can do to make a dish really tasty.

Herbed Rice

  • Servings: 6 servings
  • Time: 20 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • 2 cups chicken broth, beef broth or water
  • 3 tablespoons of minced fresh onion or 1 1/2 teaspoon of dried minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon marjoram
  •  1/2 teaspoon thyme

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan. Heat to boiling, stir once. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until tender.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. raeswolrld says:

    Try cooking this in the microwave for 12 minutes instead. Perfect every time and no pot to clean.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I will try that the next time.

      Like

  2. chefkreso says:

    Great way to season the rice 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

