Sweet Cherry Clafoutis

Clafoutis is a French fruit custard or sometime called a flan. Most European regions have their own versions of this custard. When I was in high school Julia Childs The Art of French Cooking was broadcast by my local university UHF channel.  She would come on just as I would walk in the door from school. I would quickly turn her on and sit down and watch her.  This was her first season and every Wednesday she would be on.  I continued to watch her until she retired.  I still like to watch some of her old shows on youtube.  One of the recipes I scribbled down was her cherry clafoutis because we had cherry trees and my mother would freeze them.  This was a simple cheap little dessert that I could make.

You can actually make clafoutis with any fruit you have on hand but it is wonderful using berries.  Originally the French made it with whole sweet cherries with the seeds in them.  I always take the seeds out. It was also baked in a heavy skillet or baking dish.

DSCN3140

I also made one for a friend using blueberries I had frozen a few months ago. This one was made in a pie pan.  I topped both of them with slivered almonds.

DSCN3141

What Julia did with hers was pour about a third of the batter in the baking pan and bake that for about 8 minutes then take it out of the oven then put the fruit on top of that with part of the sugar that was saved from the recipe.  Then you spoon on the rest of the batter on top of the fruit. Most recipes normally don’t call for that, you just pour all the batter in the baking pan and then drop the fruit on top.  I did not sprinkle any of the sugar on the cherries because they were very sweet cherries.  So the batter had only a third of a cup of sugar in it, which made it plenty sweet.  I did sprinkle the sugar on the blueberries because they were slightly tart. Also I left the berries thaw and drain before using them.  Therefore if the fruit you are using is sweet, then you only need the 1/3 cup of sugar in the batter, but if your fruit is tart you will need the second 1/3 cup to sprinkle over the fruit before you spoon the rest of the batter over the fruit.

With the cherry one I used almond flavoring instead of vanilla and the blueberry one I used with the vanilla some lemon zest.  You can flavor the custard anyway you like. One other thing she did was being very generous with the butter when greasing the baking pan.  I sprinkled some of the reserve sugar in the pan and coated the butter with it.  That helps make a nice crust on the custard.  You can serve it warm or cold but you do have to let it set to firm up, if you plan to cut it in wedges.

Sweet Cherry Clafoutis

  • Servings: 6-8 servings
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups whole milk
  • 2/3 cup of sugar divided in half reserving 1/3 cup
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 pound of sweet bing cherries or a 1 1/2 cup of fruit

Directions

 

Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Grease baking dish or pan with butter and be very generous.  Dust with some of the reserved sugar.  A 9 inch cast iron skillet can be used.

In a mixer or food processor blend eggs, 1/3 cup sugar, milk and vanilla.  Add salt and gradually add flour.  Mix until smooth.  You don’t want any lumps.

Pour 1/3 of the batter into the baking dish or pan.  Bake it for 8 minutes and remove from oven.  Don’t turn oven off because you are going to return it back to the oven to finish baking.

Add fruit evenly on top of the partially cooked custard.  If fruit is tart sprinkle it with the rest of the reserve sugar.  Sweet fruit will not need it.  Now spoon the rest of the custard batter on top.  Return to oven and bake for 40 to 45 minutes. If a tester comes out clean it is finished.  It should be brown around the edges.  Let it set to firm up before serving about 15 minutes.  It can be served warm or cold.

You may recognize the blueberry clafoutis as Impossible Blueberry Pie.  There was a whole series of impossible pie recipes promoted by Bisquick in the late 1960’s.  Their test kitchen simply substituted the flour with bisquick.  Maybe Julia had a bigger influence on our food culture then what she is given credit for.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. OOoo my momoe, why do you have to live so far away, you could make this for me!
    ~~dru~~

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Talk Him into it. It is easy. Use sugar substitute and a little extra fruit. Butter up a skillet or pie plate while you are buttering him up to do the mixing. Mix the milk.egg, vanilla and flour in a blender like a milk shake. Then sweeten it to taste with your sugar substitute. Pour that concoction into the pan and drop fruit all over it. Sprinkle a few nut on top if you have them. Bake for 45 min at 350 degrees. See how much fun it is. You don’t have to prebake like your a French chef. Most don’t bother with the pre baking of part of the custard. I just adapted the recipe specially for you. No skill is needed except for the buttering up part. I was just a kid slopping around the kitchen when I first made this. It is really good and worth the effort to get Him to make it.

      I hope you are feeling well these days. Maybe you will get some relief from the heat soon. I know all your furbabies will be happy.

      Like

  2. Mmmm! Momoe this looks delightful! It may have to be one of our Fantastic Bake Long recipes in the near future:). But I probably can’t wait that long! I’m so glad to meet you❤️!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is nice meeting you online.

      I am always looking for low end budget meals that is simple and don’t require lots of skill and equipment for this blog. But at the same time are very delicious. You will read about my local food bank and what is distributed by them. That is my starting point for research.

      This recipe is the result of a milk and egg war between the local Walmart and a new Aldis store. It has been going on for a couple of months. Bing cherries were on sale so a half a pound was only a $1. I also try to make sure the recipe is foolproof because when you have a limited amount of resources you can’t afford to lose a meal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great idea!! Shop the sales for sure:). Great recipe!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I made this to bring along when we were invited to the neighbors’ house for dinner this past weekend. Our neighbor had made a very tart peach and berry cobbler for dessert too, and we all put both on our plate, and they went very well together!

    Joanne Harris (author of Chocolat) has a similar recipe in her book My French Kitchen, but she starts with the flour and butter and then adds the liquid ingredients. I think that might make it easier to not get lumps in the custard. She did not do the two-step baking though, so I tried that your way and the results were good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. It is so nice to know that someone tried my recipe. I am glad it turned out for your.

      Like

  4. Sophie says:

    I made your lovely dessert yesterda

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie says:

    I meant, I made your tasty dessert yesterday using fresh new Belgian cherries! Divine! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Wow. Thanks for letting me know how it turned out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

