Chickpea Corn Soup

One of the wonderful comfort soups from Italy is garbanzo soup.  That was my inspiration for this soup. Normally the soup is made from soaked dry beans. I didn’t have everything needed to make it from the recipes I had or that was on the internet.  Soup is one of those dishes that have endless possibilities.  It is something you can make when you are out of ideas and money.

As I said many times I depend on the local food bank to help me through the month because I am on a fixed income.  They sometimes have fresh herbs that a store has donated.  Of coarse these packages look wilted and just about passed their shelf life.  People pass them up for that reason but I don’t.  I am happy to get them because I love to have them on hand in my freezer.  I used the thyme that I had frozen in this recipe. I freeze thyme two ways.  One in olive or vegetable oil but I also save the stems to freeze in a baggy because there is plenty of flavor in the stems. You just pick the stem out after your dish is ready. I just toss the stems in a bag and freeze as is then all you have to do pick a stem out to use.  When I freeze them in oil I strip the leaves off of the stems.

 

I had made chicken stock from roast chicken bones and picked off what meat there was left and added that to the stock.  I let it cool overnight in the refrigerator and froze it in a large ziplock bag to have on hand.  A tip to filling a gallon bag is to put the open bag in a tea pitcher to stand it up to spoon in the stock. I usually fold down the bag over the opening to hold it in place while filling.  Soup stock can keep for a few months in the freezer but I usually use it up within the month.

I looked around in my freezer to come up with a meal and chose the chicken soup stock. I also spied a bag of corn that I had cut off the cob and froze.  One of the problems with a food bank box is that produce that they are able to give you is at the end of it’s shelf life. As soon as I get it home I figure out how to use the vegetables that cannot be frozen right away and the rest is then blanched and frozen. This was the case with the corn I found in the freezer.

I looked around in the cupboard and found a large can of chickpeas.  At that point I was ready to find a recipe for those items.  I ended up adapting the recipe for what I had on hand.  Chicken soup is always a good bet because most everyone like it.  I alway add plenty of vegetables to the broth to make the soup filling so no one gets hungry a hour later.

 

Chickpea Corn Soup

  • Servings: 6 servings
  • Time: 35 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 ribs celery chopped
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 3 tablespoons of oil
  • 1 cube frozen thyme in oil
  • 6 cups of homemade chicken soup stock
  • I can chickpeas or garbanzo beans
  • 2 cups frozen corn or canned corn
  • 1 tomato chopped
  • 2 small carrots chopped
  •  2/3 cup tiny star noodles
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley

Directions

In a large pan or stock pot add oil, onions, celery, carrots, garlic, and frozen thyme cube. Saute until onions are translucent. Add chicken soup stock and bring to a boil.  Then add corn and the whole can of chickpeas including the broth in the can.  There is great flavor in that so don’t drain the beans, just dump them in the soup. Bring back up to a boil. Add chopped tomato, star noodles and seasonings. Simmer until vegetables and noodles are done about 10 min. 6 servings.  Leftover soup can be frozen.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. InspiresN says:

    The soup looks so yum! corn and chicken is a great combination

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Soup is always fun to make. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Sounds yummy–added to my recipe folder for later. I have some chickpeas that were wondering what they were destined to become. Meanwhile, comment some more on freezing herbs in oil: why and how.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I freeze parsley like my mother did. I rinse it off and put it in a jar of water so the leaves with dry off in a couple of hours while setting on the counter. I take the leaves off the stems and put them in a baggy and just freeze them. When I want to use them I just open up the bag and quickly take a pair of scissors cut thinly across the lump of parsley into the dish i am making. Close the bag back up and toss back into the freezer. The stems can be frozen too. I pick a couple out to float in soup or on top of food while cooking and tish the stems out when done. Stems have lots of flavor.

      You can make your own seasoning cubes. You can do it with water, olive oil or melted butter in a ice cube tray. Look around in the summer months for small ice cube trays that make little cubes. which is really nice for small concentrated cubes.

      In the film, she says not to use delicate herbs. I do. Beggars can’t be choosers. I just clean up the herbs I get and chop them up finely to put in the cubes. Then I pour whatever I have on hand over them to freeze. Olive oil is precious in my kitchen so I don’t always have it. Melted margarine works well and so does water. Sweet basil will turn black frozen so I always chop it up fine so it looks like ground pepper flakes and no one notices. Some of the packages have a combo of herbs and I just use that combination to the cubs. I label the bags so I know what is in the cubs and happily use them.

      It is a nice way to use the herbs up and it saves you time and money. I hope this helps. There is lots of herb tips on you tube. Sometimes pictures are better than words. .

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A wonderful and thrifty use of ingredients! I too freeze herbs in oil and I like that this recipe specifically calls for one of those cubes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      When I started this blog over 6 years ago, it was to teach a internet friend how to cope in the kitchen during lean times. So I have kept the theme up about how to be thrifty and still serve good meals. Modern cookbooks don’t talk about this like vintage ones did. It is a reality many families do face.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

