Chicken Marsala

What do you do with s small package of boneless chicken breasts?  There is only 2 breasts and you need to feed more than 2 people or you would like to get a second meal out of it. I did a no buy month last month to use up what I had on hand and to find some extra money in my budge.  This small package of chicken was lurking in the bottom of my freezer and had been there for over 6 months.   Along with the chicken I found a small package of canned mushrooms that I must have only needed part of the can.  I always save food items like that in my freezer for future use only sometimes they make their way to the bottom. This was getting towards the end of my no buy month so there was not many onions or any celery.  I was down to some  very small cans of tomato sauce.

I really wanted to make this a nice meal, so I started looking through my cookbooks and youtube. I must have looked at a half a dozen recipes for Chicken Marsala. The only thing is Marsala wine is not something that I can afford with my budget but I did have some wonderful red wine squirreled a way.  This was a Christmas winter red wine that I bought on a closeout sale after Christmas for a few dollars. It had a little spicy sweetness to it.  The last thing I would need was cream.  No problem I keep half and half for our morning coffee. That would work.

The chicken breasts were sliced in half like you would butterfly them only I made two pieces.  I didn’t pound them flat because they were pretty thin after I cut them.  I can be a lazy cook at times.  I dredged them in a seasoned flour mixture and fried them in butter and olive oil.  My olive oil is an inexpensive brand and probably not pure olive oil. But it is still nice to keep on hand even for a small budget for something like this. You can have the meal on the table in 30 minutes because it cooks up quickly and easy because there is very little prep for this. I served this with noodles cooked in tomato bouillon and brussels sprouts.

Chicken Marsala

  • Servings: 4 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts split in half to make 4 thin pieces
  • 1/2 cup flour seasoned
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1  small can sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 2 teaspoons of sugar if wine is dry (optional)
  • 1 sprig of oregano or 1/4 teaspoon of dried.
  • 1/2 cup half and half

Directions:

Heat butter and olive oil in a large skillet. Dredge sliced chicken breast in seasoned flour mixture. Brown on each side about 3 minutes on each side in hot oil.  When brown add mushrooms, wine and oregano and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes with lid on. If wine is dry add sugar.  You don’t need to if the wine is sweet. When chicken is done add half and half to make the sauce.  Then serve.

This video shows how easy it is to make this dish. The recipe is different from mine and no cream is used. You will see how quick this is to make even though it has a gourmet sounding name.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Love it. Glad I’m not the only one who can stretch a chicken breast!
    https://thetuesdaytable.com/2016/09/26/how-to-stretch-a-chicken-breast/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. I read your chicken blog. We have all been there trying to make a quick dinner with what we are able to keep on hand. I like your baked potato as a meal with a nice meat topping.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds lovely and not hard but “HE” won’t eat chicken so it is out for me. HOWEVER, this might be converted to veggie protein and still might maintain the taste that I’m thinking in my mind. THANX, Momoe. ~~dru~~

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I don’t see why not. I have 4 veggie burgers in the freezer and you just gave me an idea how to cook them. They came from the food bank so I haven’t tried them yet.

      Like

  3. Kat L. says:

    Great recipe, but what inspired me even more is the ‘no buying’ month! I always try to buy only as much food as I need, but still the freezer is filled with food and maybe a springtime clean up would be a good idea? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      We don’t even have to be a food hoarder or just taking advantage of food sales. I have a very limited budget and depend on the food bank. It is feast and famine with what is given out during the month. I ended up with 8 cans of cranberry sauce in a month as an example. It takes several months to use it up. Also some of the cans get pushed back into the corner and you forget about the last 3 cans because you have had eaten so much of it.. This happens with the freezer too. I have a small chest freezer that i am able to put the extra seasonal produce we get. It is always at the end of its shelf life so I freeze what I can. I forget what might be lurking in the bottom of the freezer. I try not to let anything go to waste.

      The no buy month was a name another blogger came up with. I always stop buying for a while usually because the car has needed repairs or other not planned expenses. Being able to tell the household that it a “no buy” month keeps the complaints down.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kat L. says:

        It’s a very interesting concept! There’s this pack of pasta that I haven’t been using, tuna can, frozen leftovers – I never throw food away so sometimes I freeze it to – and suddenly there’s enough not to buy food for a while. Well, I’d probably still buy vegetables as I don’t grow my own but that’s it. Going to give it a try at the end of the month when I’m home alone for 10 days, thanks for the idea!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. trkingmomoe says:

          Thanks for your comments. I enjoy hearing from readers.

          Like

Leave a Reply

