Easy Chicken Meat Pie

This is a simple pie to make.  You can use your favorite pie crust recipe or used ready made pie crusts from the grocery dairy case.  I  chose to be lazy and used ready made pie crusts for this.  I also didn’t have much time to make my own.  I just wanted to get through dinner quickly.  I was having one of those ” Oh my gosh it is almost suppertime and I don’t have anything planned.”

One of the staples I keep in my pantry is a small can of chicken, that you can find in the section of the grocery store and can tuna.  It is not expensive and a good staple to have on hand. It just takes a 9.5 ounce can to make this pie that will feed a family. You use the whole can including the juice.  This pie is also a way to use up leftover vegetables. I used a small cookie cutter that was a little peep to decorate the top of the pie.

 

dscn2860

 

Easy Chicken Meat Pie

  • Servings: 6 to 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 pie double pastry crust for a 9 inch pie
  • 3 medium potatoes peeled and cut into bit size pieces
  • 1  can (9.5 ounces) of chicken
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen mixed vegetables or your choice of vegetables
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 stalk of celery chopped
  • enough water to cover vegetables while cooking.
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch or 1 package of chicken gravy mix
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • paprika to sprinkle on top of crust

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a medium size sauce pan boil potatoes, vegetable, onion, celery and chicken with juice for 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Add seasonings and cornstarch or gravy mix and stir in until thicken. Remove from heat.  Line 9 inch pie pan with pastry crust.  Fill with meat mixture.  You can use a small cookie cutter to cut vents in the top crust before topping the pie with the crust. A pie bird is also helpful to keep the pie from overflowing. Sprinkle a little paprika on top for color before baking. Bake for 40 minutes  at 375 degrees or until done.  Sometimes it don’t take that long because the filling is already cooked. I check at 35 minutes. Serve warm.

This video is a little different from the way I put together this pie but it does show how to make it from scratch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. You never cease to amaze me. ~~dru~~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I actually posted this recipe with you in mind. My picture of the pie didn’t come up to my standards because the paprika was clumpy. I thought you would like doing this. It tasted good and didn’t last long. I used leftover vegetables in it and just threw it together. It is low cost even with buying the pie crusts from Pillsbury. Can of chicken is less than $2 but it actually came from my food bank box. You and He can eat for $5 and still have some for lunch the next day with very little effort. I served it with a simple salad and opened one of the many cans of cranberry sauce I have and called it dinner. Clean up was fast. I went back to working on my embroidery. My little rooster pie bird is one of my favorites.

      Like

  2. chefkreso says:

    The recipe sounds very yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

