Rooster Kitchen Towel

dscn2878

2017 is the year of the rooster according to the Chinese calendar.So you are going to see roosters everywhere in household items.  I embroidered this rooster towel using an Aunt Martha’s iron on pattern for the embroidery pattern #3753. It is a current transfer pattern that can be found on Aunt Martha’s internet site.  Since the towel I was going to work with was red trimmed, it just made sense to do the design in turkey redwork. This was easy because the only skill was needed was a simple outline stitch.

dscn2881

 

When I was finished with the embroidery, I chose to do add a crocheted edge.  It needed something more then just a standard towel edging. On my pininterst board I had pinned many ideas in edgings. so I went there first.  The little  chicken boarder was calling to me, so I gave it a try.  I am an advanced thread crocheter and learned as a child.  In fact the person who taught me would work some of her doilies from pictures.  I don’t always have to have a written pattern or drawing.  It is nice to challenge yourself once in awhile. I have to admit I enjoyed making this.

blogger-image-1762144703

The instructions for this crocheted edging is here and you will need to use the translator.  It is a little hard at first if you are not used to looking at a picture instructions to copy the pattern.  This international pattern can help you get started. After you get the first row done you should be able to follow the rest by the pictures.  You  start at the bottom of the drawing.  The little loops that look like beads are chains.  The other symbol is an American triple crochet.  The two lines across it means to wrap your thread around the hook’s  shaft twice to be worked off.   If there was only one it would be an American double crochet. There are charts that you can find on the internet that give all the international symbols and the equivalent nomenclature for US crochet stitches.

fe563bdf4984b24a51e9ce8dfecaca82

To finish it I embroidered the eyes and did not use beads.  I didn’t have any and since this was a towel that would be used in drying dishes or on display in the kitchen, beads just seemed impractical. I hand sewed the edging on to the towel.

dscn2880

This towel will be going on sale in my Etsy store Janellescupboard.

https://www.etsy.com/listing/515234917/hand-embroidered-rooster-redwork?ref=shop_home_active_1

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely towels but I’d prefer them with out the edging. Of course I can’t make them but given some extra cash, I’d sure buy them. I love chickens. ~~dru~~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Not many on Etsy does the crochet edging. I had to go to European patterns to find this little gem of a pattern. I just thought the little chickens with their feet hanging down was so cute for spring. I can see it hanging on the oven door.

      Like

  2. Coalition for Appalachian Ministry / Therica L Breazeale says:

    Love the towel work, lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. quilt32 says:

    This is just darling, including and maybe especially, the crocheted edging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Once I caught on to how to make them, it was just pure fun to see them come together. I didn’t even mind working in all the thread tails.

      Like

  4. These are the cutest!!! I have a stack of tea towels like this that my grandmother made me– so fun to see your adorable towels!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am on my 3rd set of the 7 days of the week towels for my grand kids. I have all these craft and material that I have collected over the years and need to use up. So with the internet there is an option to turn some of it back into money that I spent.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

      1. they’re really special– not so many beautiful handmade things now days…

        Like

  5. KerryCan says:

    This is fabulous! I love the embroidery but really, really am amazed by the crocheted chickens! SO adorable! You know, if you could write up good, clear instructions for that crochet, you could offer them on Etsy . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am not sure about the copyright on this. It came off of a site from Europe. The pattern was done mostly from pictures and general instructions. It is really for an advanced skill level. When you follow some of their patterns they assume you are experienced and leave out some details that a practiced crocheter would know. I noticed on Etsy that most of the patterns for sale are on PDA downloadable format. I don’t have that technical skill. I will keep playing with the little birds and see what I come up with that would be suitable for US market and skill set.

      Thanks for you comment and suggestion.

      Like

  6. Sheryl says:

    The crocheted chicken border is amazing. I’ve never seen anything quite like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am working on a blue bird border right now that is similar to the chickens. I found the ideas on pininterest boards from people outside of the US. They do some amazing things with a crochet hook. I just find it fun and a challenge to be able to do something different. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cackle, cackle. Goodness sakes, I adore this tea towel. What charming hand work. Golly, you have such a creative spirit.
    I am smiling, enjoying your work.
    That chicken border is about the cutest dang tootin’ thing I’ve seen in ages.
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. I had a lot of fun making it. For me this kind of work is fun and relaxing. I love a good challenge. It keeps me from getting board.

      Like

Leave a Reply

