Cake Spice Blend Recipe

A couple of Christmases ago, I was shopping in a discount grocery.  I ran across a small bottle of cake spice. That was it’s name just “cake spice.”  I looked at the ingredients on the bottle to see what was in it.  This was different then what I expected so I bought the little dollar bottle.  When I opened the bottle, the aroma was rich and spicy.  The spice blend did not disappoint me as I added  to different batters and doughs.  Any recipe that called for cinnamon I used this as a substitute.  What made this spice blend so good was the coriander that sits in the background of the spice flavor.

When I went back to that grocer after Christmas to buy another bottle, they didn’t have it.  I haven’t seen it since.  I noticed on the bottle that the ingredients were listed in alphabetical order. That usually means they are in equal parts. I had everything in my spice cupboard to try my hand at making this blend.  I used a quarter of a teaspoon each for the first try and it’s taste matched what was left in the bottle.  This little recipe of spices was added to my spice cupboard to keep on hand.  I suggest you start with a quarter of a teaspoon for each spice to see if you like it.  It will make a little over a teaspoon enough to try in a yellow cake mix.

Cake Spice

Ingredients

  • Allspice
  • Cinnamon
  • Coriander
  • Ginger
  • Nutmeg

Directions

Mix in equal amounts all the spices.  Store in a small glass jar with a tight lid.

Spices start lose their strength after a year. It is a good idea to put the date you bought it on the container.  I don’t normally throw them away after a year but I do increase the amount that I use.  After a few years I do throw them out.  Normally I use them up before that because I scratch cook mostly.  I also buy from a small local organic store that sells spices in bulk.  I just scoop what I want out of the jar into a little bag.  I find this to be cheaper and I only get what I know I will be using.

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds great. Have everything on hand and will make up a batch. I love the flavor of coriander so I should like this very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is different but good. Make a little batch and give it a try. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  2. slfinnell says:

    A bit of extra spice in my next apple crisp seems to be in order 😉 Thanks so much for the blend recipe!! (we Love nutmeg)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  3. Karen says:

    Love a good spice cake and this sounds like a nice blend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Since it is preblended you have control over how deep you want the spice flavor to be in the cake. Thanks for you comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So interesting! I’ve never heard of cake spice– but it seems like it would be the right flavors for all kinds of baking… (sort of like pumpkin pie spice). What a great idea… thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

