Apple Pie Spice Recipe

One of things that is important when you have a low budget to cook with is to keep a good assortment of spices. Using spices and herbs can really add flavor to a recipe. Some of those spices you can find inexpensively in little cellophane bags or at the dollar store in small plastic containers.  There is some spice and herb blends that you only see in the higher end brands at the supermarket. Spice blends you can make yourself.  Most of them are blends from inexpensive spices that you all ready have on your shelf.

I do bake often out of necessity.  Pies are easy to make and apple pie is a favorite. I have been making my own apple pie spice for years.  Mainly because it was convenient to use and I could make it to my taste.  Who says you can’t use it in other foods and baking?  I do use it also in cakes and cookies that have the same ingredients listed in the recipe. I have small canning jars that is used for my spices.  Small food jars with lids can be repurposed for spices so there is little cost to store spices.

Apple pie spice usually contains four spices.  Cinnamon being the most important one.  Other spices that can be put in the blend in smaller amounts is nutmeg, allspice, ginger, cloves, coriander, mace and cardamom.   The four that is the most common in apple pie spice is Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and ginger. This is what you will see listed on the side of a container of it in the store on most brands.  Another thing apple pie spice isn’t carried in all grocery stores, so it can be hard to find.  The recipe I am sharing is the most common one and a very good one for apple pies.

Apple Pie Spice

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ginger

Directions

Mix spices in a small air tight glass jar. Store until ready to use.

You can change or adjust this recipe to match your favorite spices that you use in a apple pie.  In my case I use less nutmeg because it can give me heartburn.  If you find the allspice too strong, you can leave it out and only go with three spices or use cardamom in it’s place. Cardamon is one of the most expensive spices for baking.  I bake pastries and I keep it on hand to use in sweet yeast dough. Cardamon is the wonderful bakery smell that hits you as you walk into a traditional bakery.  A jar lasts me a couple of years so don’t be afraid of the price.  Just plan for it and expand your baking repertoire to use it. It is a nice quick gift to give year round.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’d like this on top of applesauce which is on top of a maple sugar covered waffle BUT with my diabetes, that combo is no more. THANX Momoe. This blend would make a good present for baking types. (as which you know i am not one)
    ~~dru~~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I used to give gifts like these but my list over the years has shrunk to a few people. I was disappointed that Noreen has pulled the plug on her video sharing. There was another video that I was going to use that was short but I chose her because I watch her often. I guess I should do some editing. Thanks for the comment.

      Oh, you can sprinkle it in your coffee. One of the longer videos showed many ways to use this spice besides just baking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

