Daffodil Embroidered Pillowcase with Crocheted Edging

Back before we could order on line I would shop by catalog.  One of my favorites was Hershner’s Catalog for crafts.  Each year for Christmas I would buy a surprise box of stamped embroidery items.  It was their way of getting rid of items that didn’t sell or stuff they were over stocked with.  The box was always a real bargain. It was just fun to see what they would send me.  It was my Christmas present to myself.  This daffodil stamped pillow case came in one of those bargain boxes.  It had a very nice hemmed edge to crochet with. I looked through my old collection of 10 cent books from the first half of the 20th century and found this edging pattern.  It was for a handkerchief  edging.  I used no#30 cotton thread for this crochet project and my favorite vintage no #10 hook.

DSCN1672

This was an easy pattern but just what these cases needed.  I embroidered the daffodils in their natural colors.

DSCN1671

I still haven’t used them and they reside in my ceder chest with all the other ones I have done.

The pictures were taken when I first finished them with an old digital camera. I am working on my menu and wanted something quick to post to set up a needlework menu and chose this. I will up grade the pictures later when I get into my ceder chest.

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my they look beautiful. I think these look vintage; yet they are only in their 1st generation. I often use those embroidered things I found in my mother-in-laws chest of drawers. Tables scarves, doilies, etc. Hubby says it reminds him of her, and his youth. I figure they should be “well used” by the time one of my kids clears out my chest of drawers!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I like doing them and have one I am working on right now. It relaxes me to embroidery. I didn’t have many kids to play with as a little girl so I did needle work to fill my time. I still do. For me it is like having a box of crayons to color with but only slower.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    I remember Hershner catalogs; loved them. One time my daughter wanted to get mail so we put the Hershner catalog in her name. A couple years later, when she was in middle school, she got an AARP application letter with a membership card included. It went right up on her bulletin board. We had a good laugh and figured Hershner’s had sold their mailing list to AARP, based on stereotypes of who did crafts.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The other catalog I liked was LeWards. That really dates me because they have been gone for decades. Does your daughter do any needle crafts because i got these catalogs as a kid too? I used to wish for things out of them.

      Like

      1. knitnkwilt says:

        Actually no. Odd, huh? She does make collages, but not with cloth.

        Like

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    I got caught up in my story and neglected to add that I really like your crocheted edging; you are right–it is perfect.

    Like

  4. Sheryl says:

    I also have warm memories of the Lee Wards and Hershner’s catalogs. I used to love to browse through them – while trying to decide which item or two to buy and make. The pillowcases are absolutely beautiful. I love the this type of pillowcase, and this post makes we want do some embroidery.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I have much I need to work on and get done. I just got a pair of pillow cases that was stamped with a cross from Walmart’s markdown counter. If I remember correctly that the pair was only $3. I just can’t pass up that kind of a bargain even if I have to dig into the bottom of my purse for change. I have a bin with kits like that in it. I really didn’t need more. I thought it was pretty and more a Easter theme.

      Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

  5. KerryCan says:

    I just started getting the Hershner catalogs and really enjoyed looking at it! Your pillowcases are lovely–so vintage looking and the crochet is just the right touch!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I started ordering on line a decade ago so I don’t get them anymore. Here is their link. https://www.herrschners.com/category/customer+service/browse+catalog+online.do
      I can waste hours looking at this stuff. I did get into my bins today and found a pair that I stamped myself that I should finish. After a while the stamping starts to bleed, so this is a must do project first. I also think I have enough floss to last me the rest of my life.

      Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  6. I LOVE embroidery, especially by hand. These daffodils are beautiful and I like the – lace? -fringe; and, I wonder how you did that?
    🐻 💚 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry…I’m tired…I read you crocheted the fringe. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Truly beautiful– My grandmother was an artist at embroidery and finishes like this. She lived to be 102 and sewed most of her life and the whole big family has pieces of her work still. Lovely post!!

    Like

  8. Oh my, your hand work is beautiful, just beautiful. Your embroidery is so even and precise, a true pleasure to look at. Now, that crochet edge is simply delish. Such glorious colors dripping off the pillow cases.
    Such inspiration. Such beauty.
    Thanks for sharing your goodness with us.
    Enjoyed seeing your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you.

      I am working on writing a pattern for a pillowcase lace. I am finding out it is harder to do then you think. I have been doing this for so long that I just race right through it. I have to keep reminding myself that this is for someone who is just learning. Maybe in a week or so I will have a good pattern to post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

