An Angel Strippy Quilt

IM000754

I made this queen size quilt a few years ago from stash fabric.  The technique I used was quilting them into strips and then binding them together.  It was easier then trying to quilt a queen size quilt on my domestic machine.  I don’t have the money to pay someone to quilt my quilts on a long arm. Besides the lovely ladies that taught me to quilt as a kid would be rolling over in their graves if I didn’t finish quilts myself.

This type of quilting technique has been around for ever.  Even in the early days of hand quilting not everyone had room to stretch a bed size quilt out when quilting it.  Machine quilting was started as soon as there were machines to quilt with.  Singer included in the attachments to treadle machines a quilting foot. Many quilted utility quilts on the machine and did them in sections binding them together using their machines. Not many survived because they were used up.  Women had large families then and needed to be able to make quilts quickly for everyday use and saving their time to show off their hand work on good quilts.  Those quilts were only used for company or for show. A sewing machine was a major purchase for a family and the machine was always fully utilized.

In the first quarter of the 19th century stripes were in fashion.  The well to do decorated their homes with stripes.  They would paint walls with strips and cover their furniture with striped fabric.  So to be fashionable women of lesser means would piece together bed quilts in stripes.  Today collectors and quilters call them strippy quilts.

IM000667

Front and back of a quilted strip of blocks on point.  The triple strait line quilting was popular on strip quilts. The contrasting strip was a striped print of angels that was quilted on the straight instead at a diagonal. That way I did not have to line up the quilting.

IM000757

This is the back of the finished quilt.  The binding was done on the front and became part of the design. The middle strip is the angel strip. The backing fabric was chosen because of the print was large flowers and vines.  It was also on sale with a deep discount.

IM000756

Here you can see the dark binding that was used on the seams.  The batting was carefully pulled out of the seams so that the seams laid flat and made no ridge in the quilt. The quilt has lots of charm and I have never used it only to display it for special occasions. It took me about 2 weeks to make it from start to finish.  I learned this machine binding technique watching a neighbor make utility quilts.  I remember her utility quilts were always colorful and followed no rules. She just would lay out her scraps and fabric and just pick what ever she was in the mood for. I am glad to see  random color come back into quilting fashion.  For the last few decades we had too many rules.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I love that striped quilting. I have never done a “quilt as you go” method like this. I keep thinking I should try it, but I would have to have you sitting right beside me to get the pieces all “joined up”. I am such a visual learner, so I have been studying each of your photos. Love the triple straight quilting. Thanks for the “history lesson” too. It is so interesting to learn more about how our families did things “before”. My grandmother was a sewer, and taught me a bit, but I was really little and much didn’t stick. She was a woman who made the best she could out of so very little. Scraps never went to waste…..must be why I love collecting the scraps others would through away and turning them into usable items. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I worked on my blog format this week to add finished quilts. I hope it will inspire me to finish up some projects. Your comment helps to get me focused because I like to share what I know. Like most quilters I have many quilts to finish up. Health issues and family got in the way of these bigger projects.

      As I get started on the UFO’s I will take pictures of the steps and publish them. This isn’t hard to do. It is just a little bit different from what we see promoted commercially. I am far from perfect when I machine quilt. I also like the idea of people sleeping under my quilts and want them to be big enough to do that.

      Thanks for stopping to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Oh, that setting triangle print in the 9-patch strip: I bought some for a log cabin quilt and, of course, had left overs. It went with everything! I always wished I had bought more.

    I did not know the connection between strippy quilts and stripes in fashion. Fun fact.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I used every bit of that fabric in scrap quilt blocks. You made me think how long ago that was when I bought that fabric. Most of the stash is full of older fabric. Now that my income is limited I will have to use it up. It is a good thing I still like what I have in my stash.

      I always enjoy your visits. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      1. knitnkwilt says:

        late 1970s for me. I too am using up my old stuff, well, trying to.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I have more to show.

      Like

  3. AHHH! Your pictures stir such sweet memories of my grandmother. She loved to quilt. I do have making a quilt on my bucket list when I finally retire. I am actually thinking I will make a pillow or table runner.

    Like

  4. Sweet quilt. My grandmother quilted like your neighbor– using old dresses and shirts for fabric– and lots of crazy quilts with her beautiful embroidery between the patches. So fun to see your work. thanks! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

