Hearty Turkey Sausage And Tomato Macaroni

There are days when I forget to plan dinner.  I end up digging through my freezer trying to decide what I can whip up in a hurry. You know, like a half hour ago it should have been on the table?  Today was one of those days and the only thing that I had was a one pound chub of turkey sausage that would fit the bill.  It made me think of before there was kitchen microwaves that you could quickly thaw out things in.  In those days I would have put the package in a bowl of hot water so I could get the wrapper off.  Then put the frozen ground meat in a skillet with a little water to steam it apart. Now it is easy to just defrost it in the microwave.

Hearty Turkey Sausage and Tomato Macaroni

  • Servings: 6-8 servings
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of cooked macaroni
  • 1 pound turkey sausage
  • 1 yellow onion chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped sweet green pepper
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1 can (15 ounce) tomato sauce
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese for garnish

Directions

While macaroni is cooking, brown sausage, onion, green pepper, celery and garlic in a large skillet.  When brown and vegetables are cooked add tomato sauce, tomato soup and spices and simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. Drain macaroni and top with sauce.  garnish with your favorite grated cheese. Serve immediately while hot.

DSCN2674

6 Comments Add yours

  1. koolaidmoms says:

    We all have those days! You got dinner cooked though. Good for you for not ordering out or going out to eat. That is what I have to fight against.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      We get to eat out on special occasions. No money in the budget for that, other wise it is pan cakes. Thanks for stopping in on a rainy night.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yum. This looks good :p

    Like

  3. HI Momoe, this sounds good but I’m not into the Turkey Sausage and really I like my recipe better….don’t know if you remember it so here is is again….just for your laughing pleasure. ~~dru~~
    https://saywhatumean2say.com/2013/02/18/sausagebeerred-wine-cheap-me/
    hee hee hee……me

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I left you a comment. LOL…I will get the award posted this week end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

