Five Apple Pie (Small Family Pie)

In 1915 Corning Glass introduced clear glass oven bake ware called Pyrex. In that line of bake ware was a 7 1/2 inch pie plate.  It became a very popular size.  They continued to make that size until the 1960’s.  What made this size popular during that period was it only took one can of pie filling.  You could also cut it into 6 pieces.  Then in the late 1980’s to celebrate Pyrex 75th anniversary, they brought back the smaller pie plate in a brown and clear color.  This was a limited edition so the run only lasted a few years.

DSCN2657

I bought these 2 new in the late 1980’s to replace the 2 I had for years that were chipped from many years of use.  I originally bought them at yard sales when I was first married because my mother had the smaller pie plates and they were the perfect size at the time.  

The only way today that you can get this size of pie plate is to find it in a thrift store or on line auction from dealers who sell vintage Pyrex.  But you can save the disposable aluminum small pie pans from bakery fruit pies.  The 7 1/2 inch size is a common size for the less expensive pies.  Just be careful not to cut through the bottom of the pie pan. You can use one over several times. You can also find the smaller pie plate in oven proof pottery in import shops and kitchen shops. You just have to keep your eye open for one when shopping or looking on line. I bought oven proof pie plate that was decorated with ginger bread boys during the holidays a few years ago. It was 7 inches.

DSCN2618

You can see the difference in the size from the pie pan from a bakery pie and a 9 inch pie plate.  You would not think the bigger one needs 2 cans of pie filling and the smaller one can only hold one can of pie filling. Usually the bakeries use this size for the less expensive pies. A cherry pie came in that one for $4. When you just have one can of pie filling this can be a way to make a pie. Sometimes a larger pie is just too much and some of it ends up wasted.

Keeping a couple of these aluminum pie pans from store pies can come in handy for making a small pie.  You can use just one sheet of refrigerated pie dough for a smaller pie by making a lattice top from the scraps cut away from the sides.  That is what I did making my 5 apple pie. It didn’t turn out very artistic like I normally do but the pie dough was a store brand and very crumbly.  I also used foil around the crust while baking and I disturbed the edge trying to keep the foil on while moving the pie to the oven.   But it did taste good.

Everyone knows that Granny Smith apples make a good pie but there are other types of apples that also good for cooking and baking.  Some of them are less expensive then Granny Smith.

List of Baking and Cooking Apples

  • Winesape
  • Pink lady
  • Braeburn
  • Honeygold
  • Mutsu
  • McIntosh
  • Jonathan
  • Rome Beauty
  • Cortland

I used 5 Braeburn apples in this pie because they were smaller.  When the apples are large like Granny Smith you only will need 4.  I don’t live where apples grow so I have to look for the cooking apples  and was happy to find Braeburn.  They were also the cheapest per pound. Just keep this list in your wallet so when you are looking for apples to make a pie you can choose the right cooking apples.

I also make my own apple pie spice blend.  I have trouble with nutmeg because it gives me heart burn.  It took me a long time to figure that out.  There is 6 common spices that can be used in apple pie spice.  The most important one is cinnamon.  It is usually half of the spice blend. The other half is 3 other spices 1 teaspoon each.  You can experiment with the taste you want. Cardamon is the most expensive.  The last small bottle I bought was $7.  I also have the Cardamon seeds that I grind up for special baking. I make my spice blends and store it in a small jars, then use as needed. You can find recipes for apple pie spice by just googling. You will find variations. I found that buying spices is cheaper from a retailer that offers them in bulk.  There is an organic store near me were I can scoop out what I think I need from large jars and charged by the ounce.

List of pie spices.

  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Ginger
  • Cardamon
  • Allspice
  • Cloves

The recipe to make your own Apple Pie Spice for your spice rack here.

5 Apple Pie Filling recipe

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.Make uncooked pie shell in a 7 1/2 pie pan.

Ingredients:

  • 5 apples peeled and sliced thinly
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon apple pie spice
  • 1 tablespoon butter or margarine

Directions:

Place apple slices in a large bowl. Mix flour, sugar, and pie spice in a small bowl.  Add four mixture to the apples and gently stir to coat apples. When coated place apples in uncooked pie shell.  Dot the top with butter.  Finish the top crust as desired.  Cover edges of the pie with foil before baking to keep from over browning.  Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees then turn oven down to 350 degrees and bake for 40 more minutes or until filling is done. You can tell because it will be hot and bubbling or the apples look tender.  Be careful not to over brown the edges.

I have actually made this smaller apple pie out of what ever odd apples I might have on hand.  Mixture of different kinds of apple often makes a good pie. Some times I add a handful of raisins or cranraisins to the pie.

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. KerryCan says:

    I have a small Pyrex pie plate and this is a great idea of how to use it! A full-size pie is just too much for my husband and me!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I thought this would be a good food subject because cooks don’t realize you can make a smaller pie. I don’t know why they don’t bring back the smaller pie plates. Families are smaller now. It is also quicker to put a small pie together if you are using fresh fruit. We have gotten away from handing down traditional skills like cooking using basic ingredients. We have also in the last quarter of the 20th century allowed corporations to shape our cooking habits. So some really common sense cooking has gotten lost. Also the average grocery cart has gotten expensive and family cooks are looking for ideas to stretch the food dollars. This is just one way you can by making your own small pie.

      Like

  2. Quiltmouse says:

    I have a 7″ Pyrex pie plate that I inherited from my MIL, and a pie this size would be perfect for just us without a lot of leftovers! I’m not that fond of pie crusts, I wonder if I could make this as just ‘baked apples’ or even cook in the slow pot?

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Many of us old timers have the smaller pie plate and thanks for bringing this up. I just took a look at the Impossible Apple Pies recipes on line. Bisquick created these pies recipes making their own soft crust. It is like having a slice of pie filling without all the crust that still holds it shape when cut. I found this recipe for a 10 inch pie that can be cut in half to fit the smaller pie plate .
      http://www.cooks.com/recipe/mw06m4ta/bisquick-impossible-french-apple-pie.html
      I am going to have to give this a try with the smaller pie size. It would be a wonderful recipe for younger cooks that don’t have all the kitchen equipment or skills to make a pie crust and can save the pie pan from a bakery pie. I don’t know how long it will take me to work through a good recipe for this type of apple pie. So stay tuned as they used to say on TV.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quiltmouse says:

        I just have never mastered making a good flaky pie crust. I have made a couple of Bisquick’s Impossible Pies, but don’t think I have seen this recipe for apple pie. Since we love the crumble topping, I look forward to seeing how you tweak this.

        Like

  3. Sophie33 says:

    This easy pie looks just stunning: simple tecnique but oh so divine! xxx

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Sophie thank you. I get inspired when I read your recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sophie33 says:

        Ooh that is sweet & kind of you! 🙂 x

        Like

  4. sepultura13 says:

    Baking pies is my cooking weakness, LOL – this recipe might help! Looks lovely.
    🙂

    Like

  5. annika says:

    I am searching for an apple recipe and this looks perfectly delicious and simple!

    Like

Leave a Reply

