Coconut Custard Pie Without Pastry Shell

DSCN2631

During the 1960’s. Bisquick created a series of recipes for using their product known as Impossible Pies.  These were pies that formed their own crust so you didn’t have to make a pie shell, thus the name “impossible.”  The pies were quick and easy to make.  The recipes were featured on the back of the box,  also magazine ads for Bisquick would contain these recipes. You can still find them at Bisquick’s web page.

Actually the custard ones don’t have a crust like you would expect a pie to have.  The pie forms a firm custard shell from the 1/2 cup of baking mix. Slicing and removing the wedges are easy to do and the custard holds it shape on the plate. While baking the custard puffs up and when the pie cools the custard settles.  The pie is best served cold.

Coconut custard is one of my favorites in this series of impossible pies. It is my go to pie for a special dessert.  It is not expensive to make like a fruit pie.  It only takes a few minutes to put together and 40 minutes to bake. But today there was nothing special going on, I had milk that was about to expire. I didn’t want it to go to waste.  Eggs have been really unusually cheap recently, which lets me buy extra eggs to cook with. There was also left over coconut from Easter that also needed to be used.  It is one of those recipes for when you are out of ideas and out of money.

Impossible Coconut Custard Pie

  • Servings: 6 servings
  • Time: 35 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup baking mix
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of melted margarine
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon butter flavored vanilla
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded coconut ( 1 can 3 1/2 ounce)

Directions

Preheat oven 400 degrees.  Prepare a 9 inches deep dish pie pan with vegetable spray.

In a large mixing bowl beat the first four ingredients until smooth.  Add vanilla and milk at low speed until blended.  Stir in coconut.  Pour into a prepared pie pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes, until set and coconut is brown.  Cool and refrigerate before serving.

 

 

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delicious! I have a work crew coming tomorrow, maybe they will get this for dessert!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is really delicious and you will get plenty of complements.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    I love coconut custard–my grandmother made a wonderful pie. This recipe looks like something I could handle!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is quick and easy. Gives you more time for your craft.

      Like

  3. Quiltmouse says:

    Thanks for reminding me of this recipe. I’ve been craving coconut and was looking at some other pie recipes, but didn’t want the crust. Will make it this weekend!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for taking time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheryl says:

    My mother used to make impossible pies. I’d forgotten all about them until I read this post. Thanks for the memories!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am starting feel really old because I remember when the impossible pies where very popular. It feels like yesterday. (Giggle.) I always enjoy your visits.

      Like

      1. Sheryl says:

        In many ways, it doesn’t seem very long ago to me either. 🙂

        Like

  5. jschroeder says:

    Always wanted to try this. I make the impossibly easy apple pie and it is delicious. Love gf bisquick!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. I haven’t tried all the impossible pie recipes but I am going to make the apple one.

      Like

      1. jschroeder says:

        It’s the one with the streusel topping. It’s fabulous.

        Like

        1. trkingmomoe says:

          Thanks for the heads up on the streusel, I am going to cut the recipe down to fit a small vintage 7 inch pie plate and I will post the results. I have promised to do this for another blogger who also has a vintage small pie plate. I found the recipe on Cooks.com for a 10 1/2 inch pie with the streusel top. Cutting it in half should work for the smaller pie plate. Thanks again for the tip.

          Like

  6. I love coconut pie and your picture makes my mouth water. YUM!

    Like

Leave a Reply

