Pineapple Cake Quick and Easy

 

DSCN2505

At the end of the month I run out of ideas as to what to make from the assortment of food that is in my cupboard. It just depends on what I receive from the local Food Bank. So cooking is always an adventure for me. They give you what has been donated, sometimes it can be several cans or boxes of the same thing. That led me to look for a way to use crushed pineapple. I found this simple recipe for pineapple cake only using 2 ingredients. I decided that I should also add some coconut and nuts that I had on hand.

I sometimes receive a bag of coconut or dried fruit in a bag sized for food service.  It takes a while to use up a large bag of coconut. I searched in my freezer for what was left of the bag and also saw my pecan nuts I also had tucked away.  This would really dress up the cake and make it special.  The nuts and coconut is optional because the basic cake only takes a 20 ounce can of pineapple and a box of cake mix.  I used 1/2 cup of each because the video suggested 1/2 cup of coconut. It is a rich cake that can be served with ice cream, whipped topping or pudding.

The video shows the cake being made with a box of angle food cake mix but you can use regular cake mix.  In fact you can use white, yellow, orange, pineapple, butter pecan or strawberry cake mix. Any of these flavors will be fine with pineapple.  I used white because that was what I had on hand. I baked mine in the same type of baking dish for 45 minutes like was suggested in the video.

In Australia and in India this cake is very popular and they only use 3 ingredient instead of a cake mix. I converted the 450 gram can and it comes out just a tad under 16 ounces. So you could make this version of the cake with two 8 ounce cans of crushed pineapple.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

