Delicious Dried Cherries Salad Vinaigrette

DSCN2453

This vinaigrette is the best I have ever tasted. The dried cherries are so favorable that you will not go back to buying commercial fruit vinaigrette. The raspberry vinaigrette that you can purchase is weak in flavor compared to this thick rich salad dressing that clings to the salad. It will have your family and guest asking for more.  It turns a plain green salad into something out of the ordinary. Your guest will be asking for the recipe.

You can find dried cherries in your fruit section of your grocery. This is an underutilized dried fruit and is just gaining notice with gourmet cooks and healthy eating.

Dried Cherries Salad Vinaigrette 

  • 1/2 cup dried Cherries (soaked in a little hot water to hydrate them)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil

To hydrate cherries measure 1/2 cup and cover with hot water and let sit for 20 to 30 minutes to fluff them up. Drain some of the water off. They can still be a little wet.

In a food blender put the drained cherries , mustard, vinegar, salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. Take the small cap off the top to slowly pour oil in a thin stream while blender is on medium speed. This will emulsify into a creamy thick dressing.  Makes 1 1/2 cups and can be stored in the refrigerator.

I promise it won’t last long because you will love it.

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. This sounds yummy! Going to share on my facebook page where my foodie friends will find it. (And maybe inspire my daughter’s to make it too). Thank you !

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am on FB Trikingmomoe Recipes and Crafts. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  2. Sounds delicious. I also like using a specialty vinegar for vinegrette salad dressings that is cranberry vinegar. I buy it at a boutique oil and vinegar shop.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I have never seen cranberry vinegar. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  3. slfinnell says:

    I have the raspberry vinaigrette in my frig. Now to get my hands on those dried cherries! thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You will love this. It is much fruitier and a little sweeter. It smells wonderful on a salad which makes it taste better too. Some times we forget how important the smell of food is.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Momoe, You’ve done it again. We have an urban tower garden in our front yard and the only thing that has really taken off are the greens, so salads are a must at dinner know. THANX! dru

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping in. I will post some more salads for you. You will like this dressing. It is easy to make. Finding the dried cherries might take some effort. The food bank gave me 2 gallons of them. I am still trying to figure out how to use them up. This week they gave me 6 large zucchinis to create with. I hope you get plenty of rain for your urban homestead garden.

      Like

      1. Oh the cherries will be easy to find in my town, I live in the only blue zone in the US and this little town as a medical school and well as other schools of medical specialties and tons of people are Veggies, Vegans, and “organic”. We have many markets within easy range that either specialize in “health” foods or organic foods, some only carry nuts and berries and we have a Trader Joe’s too as well as many Indian and Asian markets. I myself to take advantage of the various markets much but “He” goes to all of the often. THANX for reading my stuff, dru.

        Like

  5. Reblogged this on saywhatumean2say and commented:
    Here is a recipe that you can trust for your Summer Salads, cuz it comes from Trkingmomoe’s Blog and not mine. You wouldn’t die from eating at my house but sometimes what i make is just food. Follow Momoe, if you want some amazing recipes! dru

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for reblogging this. I am getting a lot of traffic on this recipe.

      Like

  6. Sheryl says:

    This sounds delicious. I never would have thought of putting dried cherries into a vinaigrette.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I was given several large bags of dried cherries at the food bank this past winter. I have been on a search for recipes to use them. I found this one on you tube and I changed it a little. It turned out to be really yummy. That is why I posted it.

      I am enjoying your old recipes. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  7. KerryCan says:

    I love dried cherries and always have them on hand so this recipe really intrigues me! Looks yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

