Cranberry Orange Nut bread

DSCN2392

I had a small package of organic cranberries in my freezer from after New Years. I was given them at the food bank. These were large beautiful berries. I rediscovered them lingering in the freezer so it was time to use them. While looking through my cookbooks for new ideas to make, cranberry recipes reminded me of the ones I had in the freezer.  I found this recipe and adapted to what I had on hand to make this luscious dessert.

One of the things I do is make sure I have a assortment of items in the my spice cupboard. There is a small organic store near me that offers bulk items.  I can buy my spices in any amount I need. I just select some every month that I have use for. The spices are displayed in jars and they provide clean little scoops for you to bag up what you want. There is a marker for you to write what spice it is so the clerk can weigh it and ring it up.  For me that makes it possible to have some of the very expensive spices to keep on hand in small amount.  I plan a monthly trip to do that and enjoy the shop.  Sometimes I get other foods in bulk like rolled oats or red lentils. It is much cheaper then from the grocery store and it is organic too.

My recipe called for orange zest but I did not have an orange.  I did have on hand a small amount of dried orange peel from the organic store that I used as a substitute. The recipe is a older basic recipe that has been around for a long time. I used the same format that was on my recipe card from so many years ago. It is simple and not expensive to make.  It is always nice to buy a couple of extra bags in November to squirrel away in the back of the freezer so you can enjoy them through the year. Cranraisins  would also be good as a substitute for fresh cranberries. I would use 2/3 cups of cranraisins.

Orange Cranberry Nut Bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare 4 inch x 8 inch standard bread pan with cooking spray.

Sift together and set aside: 

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Cream with electric mixer in a large bowel:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup soften margarine (1 stick)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon fresh orange zest. (or 1 teaspoon of dried orange peel)

Slowly add dry mixture to creamed mixture alternating with:

3/4 cup orange juice

Stir in:

  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecan nuts

Pour into the prepared loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for one hour or until tester comes out clean.  Let rest for 5 minutes before removing from pan.

You can frost with a simple icing if you desire.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    You can make this with cranraisins if you don’t have frozen or fresh cranbrerries. It is so good. You will enjoy making this.

    Like

  2. Quiltmouse says:

    Love anything with Cranberries & Orange! I did get a couple of extra bags of cranberries last fall. Sounds perfect. Thanks for the recipe.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It can be fun and enjoyable off season to make something from them. Thanks for taking time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh where can I run out and find cranberries? These flavors looked delicious baked together! I can fit this recipe away for Thanksgiving– would make a perfect Thanksgiving morning breakfast with everyone home for the holiday! thanks.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      My local grocery has them in the freezer. Just call around you may find a store that carries them in their frozen food section near you. Remember next fall to freeze a couple of bags. You can also use cranraisins. Just soak them in orange juice or whiskey first to plump them up a little. My aunt always soaked her raisins in whiskey before she would bake with them.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

      1. Great ideas!! thanks.

        Like

  4. KerryCan says:

    This looks delightful! I might need to go rummage through the freezer, looking for cranberries!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      LOL they have a habit of sinking down to the bottom. I know I have some blue berries in mine some where. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  5. We love cranberry bread, and it always reminds me of my grandmother who made it often. I usually make a couple of loaves and freeze slices, but I’m sad to say we just ate the last of it. We have to make ours without the delicious pecans because we maintain a nut free environment because our grandson has food allergies. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I just freeze the cranberries because it takes less space in my small chest freezer. Bread like this goes in a couple of days. Thanks for dropping in and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

