Apricot Turkey With Bourbon and Pecans

 

DSCN2405

You are in for a treat.  The original recipe called for chicken breasts. I had some turkey fillet breast meat in the freezer and wanted to do something really nice with it. I was so appreciated to have been given the frozen meat in my food pantry box. Normally it is something I would not have the money to buy.  I spent time in my cook books having a food adventure trying to find a recipe that I could make with what I had on hand that would be elegant. There was enough meat for two meals so I partially thawed it out and split the package. What I didn’t need was returned to the freezer for another food adventure in a few weeks.

Rice and peas seemed like a nice complement to this main entree.  I had a box of instant brown rice and just followed the directions for the servings I wanted.  The peas were added with a little margarine when the rice was cooked and still very hot. A very simple side dish.  You can do this with any type of rice you like.

There was still a little bit left in my bottle of bourbon and some pecans from my fall and holiday baking. The best place to keep nuts are in the freezer so you can buy them on sale in the fall and make them last thru the year.

The recipe idea came from a 1993 coffee table cook book.  I collect these large cookbooks with beautiful photographs from thrift stores. It helps me be creative in the kitchen even when I am out of ideas and money. I look through them and see possibilities that can be adapted to making do.

Apricot Turkey With Bourbon And Pecans 

  • 1 can apricot halves in syrup undrained
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 3 tablespoons bourbon
  • 1 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 3 turkey breast fillets cut in half
  • seasoned flour to dredge the meat in
  • 2 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans toasted

Dredge breast fillets in season flour and fry 5 minutes on each side until done.

In a small sauce pan mix cornstarch and the syrup from the apricots. Stir over medium heat until it thickens.  Add lemon juice and bourbon to the hot mixture and stir. Remove from heat and add half the apricots to the mixture.  Save the other half to use in something else.

Toast the pecans in a small skillet that has been sprayed with vegetable oil until you can smell them. It take just a couple of minutes after the skillet is hot.

Serve the turkey topped with sauce and apricots. Then sprinkle the toasted pecans on top.

Note*  Chicken breast and sliced peaches can be used instead of turkey and apricots. 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. This recipe looks delicious! We aren’t much for turkey however, right after Christmas, my son-in-law brought home 2 full turkeys from his place of work where he bought them for 20 cents per pound. Well, you couldn’t beat the $2 turkeys but trying to do something tasty with them and different is hard……….I think I can adapt this to larger pieces of turkey and make it soon. Thanks!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Wow that was a great bargain. You might try putting the whole can of fruit in the blender with the corn starch and bourbon to make the sauce. That way when the sauce has thicken you can just spoon it over the roast turkey slices. This would be a good way of serving left over turkey. The possibilities are endless with a good sauce.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheryl says:

    You found the perfect recipe. This dish looks wonderful. It’s so much fun to browse through cookbooks to find recipes that use available ingredients.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. It is not like you get to plan first and then shop for what you need. The real challenge is to create a meal that the family will eat with what is given. It has really sharpened my skills in the kitchen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

