Roasted Herbed Chicken Leg Quarters With Vegetable Wine Sauce

DSCN2242

I live on a fixed income and depend on the local food banks to help me make ends meet.  I write for another blog and was encouraged to write a food blog sharing my recipes and ideas on making do when you have run out of ideas and money.

Last month included in my box was 10 pounds of leg quarters.  I am very fortunate to have a small apartment freezer that I am able to freeze any extras to use later.  I thawed the legs out enough to separate them and divided them up for meals.  It is growing season right now in South Florida so the box includes donations from local organic farmers.  It is usually blemished produced they can’t sell.  I also freeze the extra to use later.

I love cookbooks and have kept all of mine from the last 40 years.  I am glad I did because I depend on them for ideas.  It is faster to look through a cookbook then to dig around in the internet.  Internet is fine if you know what you are looking for.  Most of the time I am looking for a recipe for what I have on hand. Then I run across one that is perfect for things I do have but was not thinking about using that. This recipe I stumble across and thought wow.  I adapted the recipe to what I had from the original recipe that was in the 1987 annual year book for Cooking Light Magazine. I don’t even know if it is still being published. This book came from a thrift store that is where I got most of my cookbooks over the years.

This recipe is absolutely delicious.  The wine was a bottle of mark down wine that I paid $3 for and have been using it to cook with. I also freeze all the herbs I get in my box.  Having them on hand can make a meal taste good.  I left the leg quarters whole while roasting because they are easier to cut when cooked.

Herbed Chicken Leg Quarters with Vegetable and Wine Sauce

  • Servings: 10 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 leg quarters
  • 1/2 teaspoon  dried whole thyme (used a couple of frozen sprigs)
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • salt to taste
  • I cup white wine ( used pink wine)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place legs whole in a Roasting pan that has a lid.  Add wine and sprinkle the herbs on top. Season with salt and pepper. Bake for 30 minutes with lid on.  Remove lid and finish baking for 15 minutes to brown the chicken.

While the chicken is roasting prepare vegetables.

  • 1 carrot shredded
  • 1 small zucchini squash shredded
  • 1 small yellow squash shredded
  • 3 radishes shredded
  • 1/4 cup finely diced onion
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube

When chicken is done remove from pan and place on plate to separate the legs from the thighs.

In the pan on the top of the stove add the vegetables and bouillon cube and cook for 4 minutes until the vegetables are tender.  Mix flour and water to make a paste then add to the vegetables and simmer until thickened.  Spoon over chicken when served.

This even tastes better as a left over. The radishes add a little zip to the flavors almost like a little hint of horseradish.

DSCN2241

6 Comments Add yours

  1. dikkday says:

    Loos pretty good to me!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks Richard. It was really good. I have 2 more to post this week end. If you don’t have any wine you can use apple juice. That cup of wine really made it good. Next up will be “Singing Shrimp” and you will really like it. It has some heat to it and my son wanted to lick the skillet when it was all gone.

      Like

  2. Looks delicious, I’ll have to try this. How lovely to be able to have fresh produce this time of year. Blessings, Gretchen

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping in. You have a wonderful Christmas.

      Like

  3. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    I thought you would enjoy a good recipe for a light dish that is easy to do to usher in the Spring.

    Like

  4. Oh Momoe, sometimes I’m so astounded with your last century’s recipes. My partner has become a vegetarian during our years together but even with some gluten or soy product, I think I could eat THAT with THIS sauce. Thank you as always….and…

    LOVE to you all…..the Paradigm Gang, I’m definitively trying this love of food post and for all you MuckRackers out there….FEEL THE BERN! xxx ooo (sister) Dru

    Like

Leave a Reply

