Bourbon Sweet Potato Cookies

DSCN2213

This cookie recipe will really add something different to your holiday list of cookies.  It is not overly sweet and full of flavors that just roll of your tongue.  It has real wow factor going for it. If you do make these for cookie exchanges and gift giving make sure you include the recipe because you will asked for it.

When I shared these with a few neighbors to find out what they thought, because the kids didn’t seem to impressed with them, the cookies were a big hit.  I was asked for more if I made them again.  No worry, the recipe makes about 100 cookies but they won’t keep long because of the sweet potato and pineapple.  They do freeze well so you can make them ahead. I froze some for later in the holiday season. It is a perfect cookie for a cookie exchange and so uncommon that you will be asked for the recipe.  Many will be surprised at what is in them if you don’t tell them they are sweet potato.

I was gifted a small bottle of bourbon this year that I had hidden away for the holidays.  Also I had all these sweet potatoes I had frozen last month and was looking for a good recipe to use them in.  I collect cook books from thrift stores.  The cook books are my little pleasures that I indulge in. The inspiration for this recipe came from one of the cook books.  I had to make it my own recipe because of what I had on hand but kept close to the original.  Before I made them I looked all over the internet but found nothing like these.  I do that when I have to adapt recipes to see if there are other versions.

They are not difficult to make and you will only have to brush a bourbon glaze on them right after you take them out of the oven.  The cookies need to be warm for the glaze. Moreover, they don’t require much fuss and decorating. They are a soft moist cookie that glistens after the glaze sets up.

If you make these let me know if you enjoyed them?

Bourbon Sweet Potato Cookies

  • Servings: 36 servings
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

  • 1 1/2 cup raisins soaked in 1/2 cup bourbon
  • 2 cups cooked mashed sweet potato cooled
  • 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple drained and all liquid squeezed out

Preheat oven 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper

  • 1 cup chopped pecans warmed for 5 minutes in the oven to bring out the flavor.

Whisk together and set aside:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups quick cooking rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Cream together:

  • 2 sticks of room temperature butter
  • 3 cups packed light brown sug
  • 2 large eggs  (Add one at a time while beating)

Now add the mashed sweet potatoes and pineapple beat until smooth.  Add raisins and all the liquid that is with them.  Now at slow speed spoon in the flour mixture.  When all of it is incorporated stir in pecans. This makes a soft dough that you drop from a large spoon about 2 tablespoons full and space about 2 inches apart. Bake 2 sheets at a time for 15 minutes until they are firm and golden brown on the bottom.  Brush with glaze before removing while the cookies are very warm. Remove and cool.

Glaze:

  • I cup of confectioners sugar
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon

1 or 2 tablespoons of water to make a brush able glaze but not watery.

DSCN2212

9 Comments Add yours

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    I’m forwarding this to the family cookie maker

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. They are different. Kind of grown up cookies.

      Like

  2. xavierrod says:

    That looks soo delicious! Thanks for sharing! Might give it a try! Check out my blog, you might find it interesting
    http://wp.me/p6Qqpc-1y
    Best wishes. Xavier

    Like

  3. NOW………….these look amazing!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I found this idea in a cook book from 1996 titled The Complete Cookie. Most of the recipes are for international tastes and many of the steps in the recipes are too fussy. Like any cook book there are always some gems to adapt.

      Like

  4. Oh My!!!! You share so many wonderful recipes on your blog. I am definitely adding this recipe to “Recipes I Must Make File.” I have a brownie recipe that you shared that I will make for my grandchildren this Christmas. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Happy Thanksgiving to you.

      I am fooling around right now with a fruit cake recipe. We like a fruit cake that I can buy at Fresh Market but it is really expensive. It is $15 for a tiny loaf. It is from a southern bakery but I don’t remember who it is. I think I have finally got it figured out after several years attempting it.

      I am really behind on posting my recipes. I took pictures but have not had much time to write the posts. I will try to get them all posted this week end.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks so delicious that makes me hungry!!👏🏻😍

    Like

  6. Sophie33 says:

    I made these tasty beauties & loved every bite! Awesome tasty creations! 🙂 xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

