Fresh Apple Pie

DSCN1759

Apple pie is a simple pie to make.  With the pie dough in the dairy case at the grocery, it don’t take long to make.  I used Mackintosh apples because they are tart.   Some people like Granny Smith for the same reason.  You don’t have to be afraid to try making this pie even if you have never made a pie before.  It is also cheaper to make them then buying bakery pies and it tastes better because you are in control of the sugar and spice.  I can usually get 2 pies from a large bag of apples.  I normally will make my own pie dough but sometimes I need to put a pie together quickly.  Refrigerated pie dough is a great help and time saver.

I usually take the pie dough out of the refrigerator while I peel the apples and slice them.  The dough unrolls easier if you let it sit for 15 to 20 minutes first.

Normally for a 8 inch pie it takes about 7 or 8 apples.  It really depends on the size of the apples and the size of pie pan you are using.  You can usually tell when you have enough sliced.

Pre Heat oven 350 degrees.  This temperature works the best for my oven.

I mix in a separate bowl for a 8 inch pie.

  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of flour 
  • 1 teaspoon Apple pie spice or cinnamon.

Stir the dry ingredients together.  Then mix in the apples and make sure they are all coated.  Arrange apples in uncooked pie crust and pour any flour mixture left in the bowl on top.

Now dot with butter pieces on top of apples.  I usually use 2 tablespoons of cold butter that I cut up in little pieces.  Care fully sprinkle 1 teaspoon of vanilla on top of apples, making sure to get a little all over the top of the apples.

I use a pie bird so this is usually when I put it in the center of the apples almost to the bottom.  Now add the top crust and crimp the edges and cut slits in the top.  I use the dough that I trim off to cut out little apples or leaves with very small cookie cutters.  I place them on top.  I brush the top of my pie with egg wash using 1 egg and a little water.  Then sprinkle some finishing sugar on top.  To keep the pie edges from getting too dark and tough. I use strips of foil to cover the edge or a pie crust ring.

Bake for 40-45 minutes.

DSCN1762

7 Comments Add yours

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    Too bad taste doesn’t travel virtually; but photos do–sure looks good.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. It would be fun if we could record smells.

      Like

  2. I will try your apple pie recipe. Thanks for the tips.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I hope you had a good holiday. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. Cynthia says:

    I use Macintosh apples too! Your pies look delicious

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I think they make the best pies and sauce. I have to look for them here in Florida but when I lived in Ohio I would pick them.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  4. Maria says:

    I’m going to try this – it’s very different from my pie recipe, and the crust looks delicious!
    By the way: Thanks for following 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

