Oatmeal Batter Bread-Easy

 

 

Most oatmeal bread recipes make a dense loaf but I wanted a lighter easy oatmeal bread.  After trying several recipes I decided to adapt my batter recipe into an oatmeal bread.  It turned out good.  It had a chewy crust and was light inside with a little oatmeal texture.  The brown sugar give it a little hint of molasses and sweetness.  It was a no fuss quick recipe. I have a small organic food store near me that I can buy in bulk.  I get my oatmeal there and small bags of specialty flours.  I also buy my spices there.  I actually found it cheaper to do that then buying at the grocery store.   This recipe calls for a half of cup of oat meal flour and a quarter of a cup of rolled oatmeal.

Oatmeal Batter Bread

  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 package of yeast
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 1/2 cups bread flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Prepare a standard loaf pan with baking vegetable spray.

I warm 1 cup of water in my microwave,  pour it into a large mixing bowl.   I add my butter,  brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of tap water.  My butter is usually cold and my microwave heats the water up a little bit too warm.  I blend these for a few seconds with the mixer until the butter is melted and the sugar dissolved.  By this time my water mixture is cool enough for the yeast to sponge in.   In the picture below this is what your yeast mixture should look all bubbly after it sits a few minutes.

DSCN1286

In the mean time measure out all your dry ingredients into a bowel and whisk together. Now add your dry ingredients a cup at a time and let your mixer do the work until it gets to thick for it.  Then you can finish mixing the rest by hand.  I have a heavy duty mixer with a dough hook so I change from the paddle to the hook and let it do the work.  When it is all blended it should be very sticky.  You spread it into your loaf pan with a spatula and sprinkle a little extra rolled oats on the top.

DSCN1288

Then I spray the top lightly with vegetable spray so it won’t stick to the plastic wrap.  Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise.   I live at sea level and it is hot and humid.  So I just washed dishes and kept an eye on it.  I already had something in the oven so the oven was ready to go.  It took just 20 minutes to rise.

DSCN1289

You don’t want it to rise any higher then that.   Bake for 45 minutes until it is done.

 

It will lift right out of the pan after you let it set for about 5 minutes.  Let it cool before slicing.    My family hangs around complaining because I make them wait for it .  If you cut it too soon it will be too soft and moist.  I make them wait a little while so the center can finish baking and firming up.

DSCN1294

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Yanic A. says:

    That sounds simply delicious… do you think I could replace the butter by vegan margarine? We have dairy intolerance here.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You can also use vegetable oil or coconut oil. The fat or oil is need to help it stay moist. Just use a couple of tablespoons. This is a fun bread to do. I was real happy with it. Oatmeal breads are usually heavy and dry and you have to kneed them and let them rise twice. I have too many irons in the fire these days for that.

      Thanks for your comment and question..

      Like

      1. Yanic A. says:

        Quick follow up on this… Referring to the heaviness : I like to bake with whole wheat and even integral flours and the heaviness was always an issue. This week-end, we are making the bread again, but I’ve discovered that putting a few tablespoons of vital wheat gluten in otherwise heavier breads helps with rising a lot! I’ll be back to let you know how it worked out!

        Like

      2. trkingmomoe says:

        Thanks for the follow up. I will be checking back.

        Like

      3. Yanic A. says:

        Okay, so it did not make it rise more, but it did make more air bubbles inside so definitely less dense. I added 2 TBSP of wheat gluten. Still yummy, didn’t change the taste at all.

        Like

        1. trkingmomoe says:

          Thanks, I am out of gluten and keep forgetting to get some. You are right it does help the bread to be less crumbly. I am glad you liked the recipe and that it actually worked well for you.

          Like

          1. Yanic A. says:

            My 15 month old walked around munchin’ on a slice for a better part of 20 minutes. LOL! Definitely a hit.

            Like

  2. quilt32 says:

    I’m always looking for a good bread for breakfast that’s not too sweet. I plan to try this one next week.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You may want to let it rise in the bowl once first then stir it down and put it in the bread pan. It will improve the grain. Also if you have some bread gluten, you can add a couple of tablespoons of that to improve the grain. My family loves this stuff and they don’t care how crumbly it is. It get eaten before it is completely cooled. They eat all of it in one day. They think home made bread is a dessert or snack. The pigs! It is a fun bread to make and it does have a good flavor.

      Like

  3. quilt32 says:

    I had to let you know that I made this bread today and it’s everything you promised. Slices of the bread toasted along with scrambled eggs was supper for my daughter and me tonight. Delicious.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for the feed back. It really is good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

