Corn Chowder Inexpensive Comfort Food

DSCN1232

It is the end of the month and the challenge is to feed the family what I have on hand.  Making a small food budget stretch is a real skill.  I am grateful to have the internet which helps with ideas and tips.  I try to add things to my food shopping list at the beginning of the month that I can use to carry us through at the end of the month.  One thing I buy is canned milk.  I usually purchase 2 cans.  I can use this to bake and cook with when I am out of milk.  One of my favorite thing to do with evaporated milk is to use it in creamed soups.  Today I made corn chowder one of my family’s favorites.

I had 3 slices of bacon left from a package that I bought marked down. This was the thick cut apple smoked bacon that normally I can’t afford.  It was a real treat this past holiday weekend for breakfast.  This would be just enough for the corn chowder.  I also had in my pantry a can of corn and a can of creamed corn and that was all I needed to make this basic comfort food.  I know it is hot out side now but corn just seems to go with summer.  I is simple and easy to make and won’t heat up your house.

Quick Corn Chowder

  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 can yellow corn
  • 1 can creamed corn
  • 4 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • herbs and spices to taste

Chop bacon and fry it in a large sauce pan.  Remove bacon and drain on a paper towel.

DSCN1221

Now add the flour to the bacon fat to make a rue.  Stir the flour over low heat until the rue is a light brown.  You just want to toast the flour but not real dark.

DSCN1225

Next you add the can of evaporated milk all at once and whisk.  Quickly add a can of water and continue to whisk until smooth.

DSCN1226

Now add both cans of corn and cream corn to the sauce pan.  Cook on low heat stirring occasionally until thickens. If it gets too thick you can thin is will milk or water.  I season with salt and pepper.  I had used my canned milk this month to cook something else when I was out of milk so I used 2 1/2 cups of milk that I had on hand.  Thinned a little with water.

I had some red and green chopped peppers in my freezer so I minced about 2 tablespoons of them while they were still frozen which I added for color and additional flavor.  Then sprinkle of celery flakes.   You can season to your taste with what ever herb and spice you like.  Some like a little nutmeg on this chowder and some like a little cyan pepper.  You can serve with the crumbled bacon on top or add it back into the soup when done.

DSCN1228

This goes well with salad, fruit and cheddar biscuits. You can pretty well team this up with any sandwich.  It also makes a nice late night snack.

So when you are out of money and out of ideas think corn chowder.  This is a good budget stretcher.

23 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks so good, I am going to have to give it a try

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is very good and easy to do. Thanks

      Like

  2. Quiltmouse says:

    This looks so good. Will have to add this to my Recipe List. I like comfort foods that are flexible enough to ‘toss in’ whatever you have on hand. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping in. I am always looking for recipes like this. I spend time once in a while just looking for them.

      Like

  3. Lynda says:

    We too are shopping our pantry (and freezer) to get through to the end of the month. Unfortunately, we do not have the necessary ingredients for this lovely chowder! I will make sure we add them to our next shopping excursion. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I was talked into doing this blog a few years ago by a internet friend who thought I had great ideas about how to stretch a budget. He wanted some of my recipes. Now the blog is a little bit of everything. Thanks for stopping in and making a comment.

      Like

  4. quilt32 says:

    I love how you describe all the leftovers and bits of food in making this delicious-sounding (and looking) chowder. I’ve always been a big fan of evaporated milk and use much more of it than I do regular milk. So handy to keep and use.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      When I was a little girl we had a milk man. My mother would only go to the store once every 2 weeks. If we ran out of anything she would have us kids walk to the small store near our house. Can milk was a staple that was used for everything when we ran out of milk between when the milk man came. I cook a lot with it because the milk can disappear around here.

      Like

  5. Yanic A. says:

    Well isn’t that just the easiest recipe ever! I’m gonna have to pin this one. Just gonna skip the bacon. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is an old recipe that came from my mother. It may have been something her mother made in the depression. They had their easy meals too. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  6. KerryCan says:

    This sounds so sensible and so good! We’ll have too much fresh corn later in the summer and maybe I can use some of it for a soup like this!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is very good from fresh corn. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  7. This sounds delicious! Not sure whether we can get creamed corn in the UK, will have to have a good look round.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Creamed corn is just corn that has been pulsed once or twice in the food blender. Just drain your can corn first. You can cut it off the cob also only you cut just half the kernel and then go back and cut the rest of it off making sure you get all the juice. I hope this helps.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  8. mihrank says:

    Reblogged this on mihran Kalaydjian and commented:
    Corn Chowder Inexpensive Comfort Food

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you for the reblog. I received lot of visitors from it.

      Like

  9. Have being saying to my husband I would love to know how to make corn chowder and then I came across your wonderful blog 🙂

    Thank you for sharing I really appreciate it 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is so easy to make. You can have dinner done in a very short time. Thanks for Following me. I like your style of writing.

      Like

      1. Thank you, I like your style too 🙂

        Hope you’ve had a great day so far 🙂

        Like

  10. -Hi Moemo, tried this and my Father–of-law just adored it! Thanx! dru

    Like

  11. That should be Father out of law. Hands no work today. me

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      LOL…It really is comfort food from the past. Did you make the point to tell him hard you worked on it ? Just for him.

      Like

      1. You betcha, “Father was impressed. Thanx for GREAT recipes most of which I can actually complete. dru

        Like

Leave a Reply

