Mini Mariner’s Compass

DSCN1102

I have a work in progress (WIP) that needed a Mini Mariner’s Compass for a focus point in a medallion quilt.  I thought I would do that before I make the Mariner’s Compass block for my Sampler Quilt.  This medallion quilt was started 5 years ago.  I won’t get it finished this year but probably next.  I am in no hurry.  So this little block was my warm up to the 12 1/2 inches block I will do later today and tomorrow.

The little pattern came from a 1989 Quilt Almanac.  I kept all my Quilt magazines from the late 1980’s and early 1990’s.  That particular magazine had a large section of patterns in the back.  Many of them traditional block from the first half of the 20th century.  I am an old school quilter from before there was rotary cutters and could figure out yardage on my own.  All I needed was the pattern pieces.  The magazine also had patterns that were popular at the time.  Paper piecing mini quilts was very popular then.  This little mariner’s compass was just what I needed.

DSCN1078 DSCN1072I copied the pattern on artist tracing paper and looked through my little scraps for mini prints from the 19th century.  This quilt is also in reproduction fabrics.

DSCN1082

I followed basic paper piecing techniques.  And completed each section.  Now it was time to put it together.  This compass has several y-seams to do.  They were pretty small and I was not sure if I was going to get my machine into the corners.  I was able to and only had to a few stitches by hand.

DSCN1084DSCN1085DSCN1086DSCN1087DSCN1090DSCN1093

As you can see by my hand that this was very small to work with.  I will give a better narrative of how to do put together a compass in my next blog.  I will be working with large pieces and much easier to see.

DSCN1098DSCN1102

DSCN1104

I appliqued it down in the center of a large compass.  I am happy the way this looks.  This was going to be a competition quilt but the economy fell apart and I can’t justify having it professionally quilted.  So one of these days I will quilt it in sections after I get all the mini log cabin block finished for it.  I have all the other blocks finished for it.

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful! I really enjoy seeing your projects. They are such an inspiration and I’m looking forward to seeing what you do next.

    Like

  2. trkingmomoe says:

    Thank you, I busy now making another mariner’s compass for my sampler quilt. I am using a free online pattern and will show in detail how it is put together.

    Like

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    I love mariners’ compass and also miniatures, and you have done both! Lovely! And it makes a dramatic center for the larger one. I’ll bet the larger one you are working on now is a breeze after the tiny one.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The little one was my warm up to make the bigger one. The pattern that was used for the big medallion was from Fons and Porter 2007 issue. They featured a mariner’s compass call Spice Island. The compass block was 24 inches. The medallion has one whole compass and 4 halves. It is set on point. I will put this back in it’s box and work on it after I get the sampler finished. I tend to rotate through projects so I don’t get board.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. . .

      Like

  4. lulu says:

    I am not familiar with this pattern. What a delightful one for anyone who likes boating!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is one of the oldest patterns for quilting in the USA that had a name. The ladies must of copied it off maps in the 19th century. Thanks for your comment. .

      Like

  5. mountaingmom says:

    Beautiful! Someday I will try quilting.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Lot of people start out on small projects like a purse or place mats. Then move into lap quilts. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  6. Dorothy says:

    Your star looks wonderful. I love the fabrics you have used.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I am trying to use up my scraps.

      Like

  7. Najlaa says:

    This is so great

    Like

  8. Fabulous. I’ve never been brave enough to tackle this block. So inspirational 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I had been looking at the pattern for a while debating if I wanted to add it to the quilt top.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  9. I’ve never tried to make a Mariners compass but you may well have given me the push I need to give it a go! Your’s looks great!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It takes time to do one. You fiddle around with it sometimes. I think it was worth it.

      I like your blog. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  10. sindhoooo says:

    Lovely! I am new to quilting and will definitely fall in love with it soon looking at your works… Interesting blog! Thanks for sharing your works and inspiring us 🙂

    Regards,
    Sindhu
    Tantu
    The Arts & Me

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You are welcome.

      Like

  11. Kev says:

    It looks like a compass too. 🙂

    Like

      1. Kev says:

        🙂 I’ve always liked compasses. 🙂

        Like

  12. WOW – incredible that you made it so small and all the points are sharp. Impressed 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Paper piecing helped. I had to stop and start right on the line because it was so small. I made sure machine was set on slow. It took a while.because it was so small.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  13. Katie says:

    That is beautiful! Nice work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

