Birds in the Air Quilt Block- Sampler Quilt


I followed the Gourmet Quilter’s instructions but I didn’t have 10 inches squares or what they call in this country layer cake bundle.  I used my scraps and made it scrappy.   In this picture I still had a few places to fix.  That was just on the sewing the four squares together.  It made a nice 12 1/2 unfinished block for the 18th century sampler quilt.  A well know civil war quilt made by Debra Coats was made from this pattern.  You can see the quilt and read the history at this link:

I started with a selections of fabrics that I cut in half square triangles.


I didn’t have any color theme in mind.  I just looked for fabrics that I thought would look nice mixed together.  I made sure the large pieces had a medium print that was interesting so fabric would be the feature of the block.


I played around with the pieces until I got the look I wanted.  All the points on the birds face the same directions.  I started by sewing the small half squares first.


Then I sewed the little birds to the large half square.  You have to be careful not to stretch the bias as you sew.


You can see it makes a nice 6 1/2 inches square.  I always over size my half squares triangles so I can trim down afterwards.


Sew the four 6 1/2 inches blocks together to make the 12 1/2 inches unfinished block.

This is really a fun block to make.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. averyclaire says:

    I have ALWAYS loved this block. One day I will make a quilt from this. It’s a classic!


    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The block is like a log cabin because you can lay it out in so many ways.

      Thanks for your comment.


  2. knitnkwilt says:

    I love that block, and your fabrics are perfect for it.


    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I dug around in my scraps that seems to keep growing for these. Right now I have them spread all over the living room. I am going to sort through them. My next block is going to be the Mariners Compass. I am going to paper piece it. I guess we will see how I do with that. In the mean time I have a mess to clean up and the sweeper to run.

      Thanks for stopping in and commenting.


  3. How pretty and such a good using fabric you have on hand. I enjoy seeing your projects in progress. Thank you for sharing your project with us.


    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. We pay for every inch of the fabric we buy, so we should use every inch we can. I used to be told that by the quilters that taught me when I was a child.


Leave a Reply

