Flower Basket Quilt Block Sampler Quilt Along

DSCN0846

A sampler quilt always needs a basket block.  This one is called flower basket or scrap basket.  Ladies Art Co.  was the first to name this block flower basket.   It was block #57 in there 1898 catalog.  My block has a few more half squares in it then the original pattern because it was just a 9 inch block.  My sampler is 12 1/2 blocks so I just made an extra row of half squares and enlarged the basket.   The block isn’t difficult to make but you do have biases to be careful with.  The pattern is based on 6 by 6 grid of 2 inch blocks.   I should have used some more very light fabrics but originally I was going to use a tan fabric for the back ground.  All very light fabrics would have made the saw tooth edge stand out.

To make this block you will need:

23 assorted prints in light and dark of 3 inch triangles for half squares.  This gives a little extra in size instead of cutting 2 7/8 inches triangles.  When the half squares are sewn you can square up to 2 1/2 inches squares.  3 triangles will be left for the bottom of the flower strips.   7 of them should be light and the rest in dark and medium prints.

One 8 inches triangle of gingham for the basket bottom.

One 3 inches square of gingham.

One 3 inches square of background light fabric.

One 2 1/2 inches square of background light fabric.

Two 2 1/2 inches by 7 inches rectangle of background fabric

One 2 1/2 inches by 10 1/2 inches strip of background fabric.

One 2 1/2 inches by 12 1/2 inches strip of background fabric

DSCN0794

Sew assorted triangles into half triangles except for 3.  choose light and dark combinations or contrasting combinations.  Square up in to  2 1/2 inches squares.  The 3 remaining with be for the bottom of 3 rows.

DSCN0797

Arrange your blocks with the lights on the outside and the triangles on the bottom of the rows.

DSCN0799

Sew rows in strips making sure that your seams allowance is a quarter of a inch.  This will make your point turn out sharp.  I keep a ruler handy will I sew to check my seams.  Three of the rows you will add the triangles to the bottom.  Don’t worry about them being a little over size.  This will come useful later when squaring up the bottom to attach to basket piece.

DSCN0801

Sew rows together starting with the longest row.  That makes it easier to line up points and to iron the seam going in proper directions so everything lays flat.  End with the smallest strip.

DSCN0811

Trim bottom edge leaving a quarter inch seam allowance from the points of the half squares.  You won’t have to take much off just a sliver and the dog ears.  I line my ruler so the quarter inch line just touches the tip of the points.  Everything should line up nicely if you have been checking your quarter inch seams as you sew and press.  Pressing after each seam is also important to have everything line up.  DSCN0817

Sew the bottom basket triangle on.  Square up to 8 1/2 inches.  You will only need to trim around the basket triangle the rest should be exactly the right size.   Now you will add the border and the bottom of the basket.   You can see in the second picture from the top that I had to cut triangles for the bottom of the basket.  I didn’t have enough fabric to cut a 3 inch square but I was able to get the triangles from the fabric.  You will make to half square using the 3 inch square of boarder light print and basket print.  Square up to 2 1/2 inches square like the other pieces that was used in the floral part of the basket.  One of the half squares will be sewed to the 2 1/2 inches square of boarder fabric.  The sew your boarder like the picture.  Starting with sewing the bottom of the basket to each 7 inches strips.  then sewing them starting with the shortest one first around the basket.  You have a little extra that will have to be trimmed from the strips with the half squares before you sew on the last 2 strips.  Press and it should be 12 1/2 inches square.  I always wait to square mine when I add the sashing.

DSCN0846

This is block 18 .  May I suggest if you are following me and interested in these patterns to down load them or print them out and keep them for future reference.  I have saved patterns all the way back from magazines in the 1960’s and still go through them for block patterns or quilt pattern ideas.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Quiltmouse says:

    I love your basket block! I like making 12″ square blocks and will have to look back at your other blocks. I’m always saving blocks & patterns to be able to look at them later.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You are welcome to use the patterns and pictures. Non of this is copy written. I have a flicker account under trkingmomoe that is just my snap shots of blog stuff. You are welcome to go through that and copy to or use on your blog. I always give links and credit to the copy written stuff. I like to add the books and authors that I think are important to a good pattern library or reference. These are books well worth tracking down on Amazon even if you can only afford a beat up used copy. Quilting doesn’t need to be expensive like it is promoted today.

      Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  2. Deborah says:

    I am really enjoying following your progress on this sampler quilt. I have enough projects on my wish list to last more years than I will quilt. But that doesn’t stop me from stopping by and smiling and the delightful colors and fabrics you are putting together in these blocks. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I know what you mean about fabric and projects. I have enough to keep me busy for a long time also. Doing this blog is forcing me to use up some fabric scraps that I have had for a long time. I keep finding more tucked away. It is always a pleasure to hear from you.

      Like

  3. Wanda Dotson says:

    I love learning how quilt blocks got their names. Thanks for the history lesson.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I try to add what I know about quilt history. It makes the pattern a better read. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  4. That is very pretty. Your wonderful tutorial almost make me believe I can do this. But, I am really not crafty, so maybe I’ll have my super crafty sister make one for me. 🙂 Thanks for your great post!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you for stopping in and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

