Cabin Lights Quilt Block-Sampler Quilt

DSCN0657

Cabin Light Quilt was featured on the front cover of Quiltmaker Sept/Oct issue in 1994.  The pattern was also included in a year end special pamphlet of that year’s favorite patterns by Quilt maker.  The pattern is attributed to Carolline Reardon who was the managing editor at the time.

DSCN0655

This is one of my all time favorite scrap patterns.  It is has all kinds of layouts like the log cabin quilts. The contrast from the darks and lights really catches your eye.  Here is a link to a quilter’s blog that has made this quilt.  In fact it was her first quilt she made.

Geometric SHAPES in Quilts: Triangles

I added this quilt to the sampler because it is a pattern that every one should have on hand for a scrappy quilt.  It also is a modern version of the log cabin lights and darks scrappy quilt.  This is also a variation of a split 16 patch quilt block that does appear in vintage and antique quilts. The split 9 patch and 16 patch was popular at the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.

The original block pattern is for a 8 inches block.  It is based on 16 square grid so it is easy to graft for a 12 inches square block.  We are working with 3 1/2 inches unfinished pieces.  The half squares start out as 4 inch squares and after sewn are squared up to 3 1/2 inches.

DSCN0649

DSCN0653

In order to make this block you will need:

Cut five 3 1/2 inches squares from various dark fabrics.

Cut five 3 1/2 inches squares from various light fabrics.

Cut three 4 inches squares from various dark fabrics for half squares.

Cut three 4 inches squares from various light fabrics for half squares.

Put one light 4 inches square with one dark 4 inches square right sides together and mark from corner to corner with a line.  Sew a seam one quarter inch from the inside line on each side.  Cut on line to separate.  See the pictures above for details. Now press seam to dark side and square up to 3 1/2 inches square.  Follow the lay out and sewing order in the picture below.

DSCN0656

After you make the block you will see how easy it is to do.  That is probably why the split 9 and 16 patch was so common.  Traditionally the split 16 patch only had 4 half squares with the light side pointing to the lights and the dark side pointing to the darks.

I have now completed 13 blocks for my sampler quilt.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. quilt32 says:

    I like this block very much.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is really easy and fast. Just stick to your lights and darks. It is a real stash buster. I have so much fabric to use up. I haven’t made a dent even in that shoe box yet. I like your blog.

      Like

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    I am needing a 16 1/2 inch square center for a charity medallion quilt for guild. Now this isn’t a typical center, but I think it has a lot of possibility for clever additions. I think I’ll do it!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      There is so many possibilities with this block as far as lay out goes. You can really use up the scraps with it too. Great charity block for quilting.

      Like

  3. I have a lot of left over half-squares from previous projects. What a great idea to use them up! Thanks for posting

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I end up with lots of left over half squares too. I keep the left over cut blocks in a shoe box sorted out in baggies. When I got involved in the project for another blog, I thought this was an opportunity to use them up. I have 14 blocks now done for this sampler quilt and my box still seems full. It is just amazing how far these little scraps can go. It is also fun just going through patterns looking for blocks to make using them. I am trying patterns I would normally shy away from because it is just one block.

      Thanks for dropping by.. .

      Like

  4. Beautiful and thank you for giving such good directions that your readers can give it a try. 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I have been hosting a quilt along sampler on another internet site. I post the blocks here so they are easily found as a group. I have always liked this block for a great scrappy quilt. It is also an easy block to cut out with scissors if you don’t have the rotary cuter, mat and rulers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

