Savory Ham Cheese Broccoli Muffins

DSCN0638

If you have run out of ideas for a weekend meal,  this a quick an easy brunch.  Actually we had them for supper tonight.  They are as good as they look.  There was a box of Bisquick lurking in my pantry that needed to be used up.  I was going through my shelves to see what I had on hand before I shopped.  I didn’t see anything on the box I wanted to make,  that led me to a search on the internet for Bisquick recipes.  It was a easy pick because the pictures looked good and I had everything that was needed.  I had just picked some fresh broccoli from my Florida garden and a red pepper.  There was some left over ham in the freezer from New years and 3 open bags of shredded cheese from the Super Bowl .   How my family ended up opening all 3 bags is a mystery to me.  So I didn’t go shopping after all and made this instead.

What a wonderful surprising  muffin just perfect for any time.  I steamed the broccoli and chopped red pepper for 10 minutes.  Mixed up the batter then added the cheese, chopped ham and drained vegetables.  The recipe calls for a box of broccoli with cheese sauce so the dough seemed a little too thick for muffins.  I added 3 more tables spoons of milk to make up for the lost sauce.  I also added some dried parsley.  The comments section many had added herbs and onion to theirs.  I used a mini loaf pan and sprinkled a little smoked paprika on top for color and a little additional flavor as a bite is taken.   I made a green salad to serve with them.   They are very filling and a meal in themselves.  Enjoy!

Here is the recipe from Betty Crocker:

http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/easy-broccoli-cheese-and-ham-muffins/2920d67b-537d-4a36-a019-9e7cb730d9e8

DSCN0635

4 Comments Add yours

  1. quilt32 says:

    This sounds really good. I’m always on the lookout for dishes I can make for lunch for myself and two daughters. This looks perfect with a small side salad.
    Lillian

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It was real easy. I dug around the pantry to find a meal. Having a dead line at Kos for a quilt article had worn me out. It tasted really good.

      Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    These look terrific! I love this sort of meal-in-a-muffin–thanks!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for your comment. Yes they are as good as they look.

      Like

Leave a Reply

