Monkey Wrench Block-Sampler Quilt

 

 

DSCN0434

Monkey Wrench Block

The first block is and easy block and very traditional.  All the blocks in this Sampler quilt is 12 1/2 inch blocks.  I am using 19th century reproduction fabrics for this quilt and will be machine quilting this myself.  These blocks are being featured on Daily Kos Quilt Guild for their Sampler Quilt Along.

Cut two of 5 inch square of light color. This is for the half square block.
Cut two of 5 inch square of dark color.  This is for the half square block,
Cut one of 4 1/2 inch square of medium color.  This is for center of the block.
Cut four of 4 1/2 inch square of light color.

Instead of cutting 4 7/8 inches squares for the half square block, I just round up to 5 inches.  This gives me added insurance so I can square it up to the right size.  I have the habit of making wonky blocks.  This solves the problem.

DSCN0433

One Comment Add yours

  1. lthikes says:

    I love all the blocks and fabric selections, I can’t wait to see the finished quilt. Looking at the blocks brings back funny memories. When I first fell in love with quilting, I had one of my mom’s old sewing machine and Linda causee’s book, ‘ 101 Patchwork Potholders’. I made pot holders for everyone! (Until they begged me to stop. 🙂 )

    P.S. Thanks for the likes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

