Dutchmen Puzzle Block-Sampler Quilt

DSCN0564

You can follow the same method of the Eleanor Burns Quilt in a Day Flying Geese  ruler with out her ruler.  You will need a square ruler at least 6 1/2 inches.  I was using a 10 1/2 inch square ruler both are June Taylor rulers that I have had for a while.  I am just showing how to use the lines on the ruler to line up to square up.  You are working from the point out.  The diagonal lines is important to keep your point straight.

You will have to cut two 9 inch squares out of light or medium fabric and two 7 1/2 inch square out of dark fabric. Then stack them together with right sides together.  Center the smaller one on top of the larger one.  Draw a line from corner to corner.  You will sew a quarter inch on each side from the line.   Then you will cut on the line to make two halves.

DSCN0480

Then you will cut on the line to make two halves.  You will place the two halves together with the dark against the light with right sides together.

DSCN0486

Sew a quarter inch from the line on both sides of the line.  Cut on the line that you drew after you have sewn it.  Then you will have something that looks like this.DSCN0487

When you open up the pieces and press you will have this.  You will need to cut in half and leave a little more then a quarter inch from the point of the flying geese. Just line up a ruler like this.

DSCN0491

I used a 6 1/2 square up ruler by June Taylor.  I like it because it has lines from both corners crossing over in the center.  It is great also for hour glass blocks. This flying geese is will be 3 1/2 inches by 6 1/2 inches when it is squared up.  Just follow the pictures on how I lined it up to trim.  You can click on the picture to get a closer look at the lines.

DSCN0540

DSCN0541

DSCN0545

When you are done you will have eight blocks from the original 4 pieces of fabric.  For the Dutchman Puzzle lay the blocks out like the following picture to sew together.

DSCN0493

I reworked my Flying Dutchman block to show another version of it.  When I made the 3 1/2 inches by 6 1/2 inches flying geese I made enough at one time for the 3 blocks.  Only when I put the Flying Dutchman together I used just 2 fabrics.  I should of used 4 fabrics which makes a prettier block in my opinion.  So I went back and corrected that in order to do the next two blocks. This is a 12 1/2 inches unfinished block when the geese are sewed together.  I have learned when sewing together pin wheel centers that I sew the couple of inches that is in the center first and check it to see if it has it’s points nicely together.  That way I don’t have to rip out the whole seam.  It is easier on the fabric so you don’t stretch it all out messing with it over and over again.  Once I have the center set nicely then I ease the rest of the seam in on both sides.  I have always had some trouble lining up points.

t

DSCN0564

I like this one better then the first one.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

