Southen Praline Cake (Prize Winning Recipe)

No one is going to resist this cake after you make Southern Praline Cake. I found this recipe on the internet about 15 years ago. I have been making it ever since. It even won me tickets for my family to go to Sea World in Orlando 7 years ago. I made three of these pumpkins in different cake flavors and set it up like a pumpkin patch. The judges loved this particular cake. Though I did have to admit the blackberry wine and the pumpkin butter scotch cakes also got high marks. They were all from cake mixes.

This is a rich cake and makes up nicely in a 12 cup bundt pan. It smells wonderful when it is baking. My neighbor could smell it tonight because our windows where open and he is looking forward to his share.

I know some of you have been wondering how I get my cakes out of my cake pans so I have taken time to take a few pictures on my technique. That will follow the recipe. It is really easy so don’t be afraid to ask for a great designer cake pan for Christmas.

Southern Praline Cake

  • Servings: 12 servings
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

  • 1 package Butter Pecan Cake Mix
  • 1 (16 oz) container Coconut Pecan Frosting
  • 4 eggs
  • ¾ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven 350 degrees F. Prepare baking pan or bundt pan with non stick cooking spray. Make sure to use a pastry brush to smooth out the spray and make sure it has covered all the nooks and crannies in the pan.

In a large mixing bowl combine all ingredients except nuts and beat with electric mixer until combined and fluffy. Stir in nuts. Pour into baking pan and tap the pan on the counter a few times to make the air bubbles come to the top. This is rather thick batter and you have to give it a little help in settling down with the taps. Bake for 50 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean, The pumpkin pan takes longer about 62 minutes, if you are using a 3 D pan like the pumpkin pan.

 

The cake will settle a little after it comes out of the oven and you will notice that it has pulled away from the sides. It take about 10 minutes for this to happen.Then it will be ready to flip out of the pan. Take a cookie/cake rack that fits over the pan and lay it on top.

630

Grab the side with pot holders because you pan is still very hot. Make sure you have a good hold on both the rack and pan. Now flip over and set the rack down on the counter with the cake still in the pan.

Take a spatula and lift up the edge of the pan just enough that you can grab it with a pot holder. Just lift the pan the same way in the picture. I can sometimes lift it straight up if it is a smaller less complicated pan, but normally I just lift like a hinged lid. Now you just let the cakes cool so you can put the cake together and frost.

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Butter Pecan Cake mix………I don’t believe I have ever heard of it or seen it. Can you tell me who make it because my mom would be on that in a New York minute! She loves butter pecan. Such a beautiful and tasty cake! You are quite a winner missy! I can’t wait to try this.

    I found the picture and have edited the post to add not only the cookbook cover, but a picture of the recipe itself. Go here and see!

    http://kellisretrokitchenarts.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/a-kinder-gentler-gingerbread-man-cookie/

    Like

  2. P.S. – I pinned and tweeted it – hope it gets you some traffic. You have such a good quality blog!

    Like

  3. mizqui says:

    Love the double-bunt. I’ve never seen one before. THANKS for the recipe too. How SWEET!!!!

    Like

  4. I love all your special cake pans. I don’t have anything like this. It’s so cool.

    Like

  5. shadeydaze says:

    That is a lovely looking cake Momoe…..love the idea of this for halloween….here it is light until late so I struggle with making Jack-o-lanterns …this would be a great addition xx

    Like

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    A double bundt cake? I’d no idea they made them. This is such a special cake, though. I bet it gets plenty of oohs and ahhs when you place it on the table — and well it should. Thanks for not just sharing your recipe but for the lesson, too. I need all the help I can get when it comes to baking a cake.

    Like

  7. OOOohhh I wish you lived closer!!!! I’ll never go to this much trouble but OOooohhhh would I like a slice. THANX again just for the idea. dru Oh my PA Dutch S & S red cabbage was GREAT!!! me

    Like

  8. Sheryl says:

    What a fun cake! It is absolutely beautiful.

    Like

  9. Jessi says:

    I can see why that won – it looks amazing! I love the double bundt pan too. Where did you get it?

    Like

  10. I love that mold! That is so cute and your cake looks incredible!

    Like

  11. Hey, Trking, I love your recipes and have added your blog to my blogroll. Keep ’em coming!

    Mona

    Like

  12. mizqui says:

    Where are you o’ cooking buddy? It’s almost been too months. I’m hungry. ENCORE!!!! LOL! 🙂

    Like

  13. Thanks for the follow! This cake looks amazing! Def will try the next time I’m feeling indulgent

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It smells amazing when it is baking. You will love it. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  14. bakeaffairs says:

    This cake looks beautiful and mouth watering!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It will really impress people when you make it. It smells wonderful as it bakes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

