Creamy Cranberry Salad Dressing

If you are looking for a different salad dressing for the fall and winter salads, you might like to try Creamy Cranberry Salad dressing. It is easy to make and will last a month in the refrigerator. Mine never lasts that long because we like it and it goes to pot luck dinners during the holidays. It even tastes good on a turkey and lettuce sandwich as a substitute for mayonnaise. You might even like it on a green grape and chicken salad.

The salad in the picture is just mixed greens, thin sliced onion, cranraisins, pecans and heirloom tomato slice. This is a great quick salad to complement a roast chicken or turkey. Just make your favorite green salad and dribble a little of this creamy dressing on it.

Creamy Cranberry Salad Dressing

  • ½ cup cranberry sauce
  • 1 tablespoon prepared mustard
  • ¼ cup vinegar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon parsley

Place all ingredients except parsley, into a food blender. Blend for 60 seconds until creamy like mayonnaise. Add parsley and stir with a spoon. Pour in glass jar and store in refrigerator until used. It makes about a 1 ½ cup of dressing.

9 Comments Add yours

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The label is a post a note. I found 2 packs in a mark down bin at Walmart a couple of weeks ago for .50 cents. I thought they would be great lables. I have people in my household that see my used jars of salad dressings in the refrigerator and think that I forgot to throw something out. Then when I go looking for my Italian salad dressing that I had stored in a small pickle jar, I find out it was poured down the drain and the jar is in the recycle bin…LOL.

      Like

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    You are the queen of excellent salad dressings.
    This looks and sounds similar to an expensive dressing you may pay for at the market or at a restaurant, but don’t know how to prepare it at home for a salad! Delicious!

    Love your tablecloth!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I found the recipe on the internet a while ago and tried it. Made some adjustments for my taste and make it every year now. It doesn’t have egg in it like mayonnaise but it has the consistancy of it. The original recipe called for a 1/4 cup of mustard and a 1/4 cup of cranberry sauce that made it too much like pretzel dip. I wanted the cranberry to be the dominate flavor so I increased the cranberry and settled on 1 tablespoon of mustard to give it the base like an egg white does for mayonnaise. The vegetable protein in the mustard holds it together and makes it creamy. It also uses up my leftover cranberry sauce that no one wants to eat but they will slather this on a sandwich…go figure?

      That table cloth is a half yard of fabric from my quilt stash. I have got to dig through my bins for Christmas fabric for picture back drops. Now I don’t feel so guilty about my fabric stash because I have another use for it.

      Thank you taking time to comment.

      Like

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds delicious and a snap to make. For a change, I’ve got all of the ingredients, including a bag of cranberries in the freezer. I will be making this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I hope you enjoy it. It will impress your guests.

      Like

  3. This looks so good! I wonder how it would taste on chicken? I think it would be great in place of mayo!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It tastes fine on chicken and also as a add on to chicken salad. I hope your diet is moving along to your goal.

      Please stop in anytime.

      Like

      1. Thank you for the encouragement. It is moving along although slower than it was. I am down 52 pounds with only 8 to go!

        Like

Leave a Reply

