Sassy Saucy Sugar Bundt Cake (Quick and Easy)

 

Don’t have much time to fuss over a cake and you want something that will make your kitchen smell wonderful with fall spices.  Try this quick bundt cake.  It is so moist and luscious.  There is no reason why you can’t show this off to friends and family.  The good part is they will never guess that you started with a box mix.  I used a very old bundt cake pan I have had for many years.  You can use the older pans with out much trouble if you use a good quality baking spray.  I like Baker’s Choice but have also used some of the new ones that are now on the market.  The trick to this cake is to be very generous with the spray because it helps carmelize the spiced sugar coating around the crust of the cake.  I found that it keeps better if you refrigerate it in hot weather.  I live in South Florida.  This is also very inexpensive to make.  It is real easy on the budget to plan.  I buy my cake mixes only when they are on sale.  I hope you enjoy.

Sassy Saucy Sugar Bundt Cake

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 2/3 cup apple sauce
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoons cinnamon or apple pie spice

Preheat oven 350 degrees and spray bundt pan with vegetable spray. Mix cinnamon and sugar in small bowl. Take a couple of tablespoons of the sugar mixture and coat the inside of the sprayed or greased bundt pan. Do this by rolling the pan around at an angle and shaking it until coated add more sugar if needed. You will have some left over for the inside of the cake.

Mix the rest of the ingredients on medium speed with electric mixer for 2 minutes. It will have small bits of apple sauce in the batter so it will not be smooth. Pour half in bundt pan and make a ditch with a spoon in it to sprinkle the rest of the sugar mix. Then add the rest of the batter. Lightly run a knife half way down the batter to swirl in the sugar around the pan once. I like to save a little to sprinkle on the top. Bake for 50 minutes at 350 degrees until a tooth pick comes out clean. Let cool for about 10 minutes and turn out of pan.

The cake has a sugary gooey coating on the cake’s outside crust and a light color to it.  The spice give it a fragrant smell and a hint of spice in the cake.  It is a cake that can be made when you are out of money and out of ideas.

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I was thinking about you and your pumkin beer tasting party because I was getting all the stuff together to make beer batter bread. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Delicious and perfect! Your bundt cake looks remarkable. What type of cooking spray do you use? Does the sugar mixture help too? Because it looks scrumptious. It seems no matter what I use, the cakes still stick.

    Thank you,
    judy

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Judy, I use Crisco spray, Pilsbury and Baker’s Joy. On this pan I used the Crisco Butter spray to make it carmelize. The pan was a light weight pan that was used originally for jello. I think it is from the 1940’s. It was a Goodwill bargin. What I do is spray the pan then take a china brissel brush and brush it around, making sure that all of the pan is evenly covered. Get down in all the nooks and crannies, also make sure the top of the rim is brushed because the cake can puff over that and stick. For my Nordicware baking pans I use Baker’s Joy. I do the same thing with a brush to make sure it is covered evenly. I got in the habit of brushing the non stick spray from when I used to buy Wilton’s Release that came in a container that you had to brush on, many years ago. That was before it became very expensive and all the sprays came on the market.

      I make sure the cake has baked long enough to pull away from the sides. After the cake or bread is baked, I wait about 10 minutes before I turn it out on a plate to cool. If you do it too soon it will be too soft and some of it will break off in the pan. If you wait too long and it has cooled too much it will stick. I make sure the top edges on the sides are loose by gently pulling back from the side with my fingers. You can tell if it might have some sticky spots and you need to get a little knife or spatula down in there. But if you make sure the cake has pulled away from the sides while baking you should not have trouble when your spray is on evenely. Don’t leave blobs of it down in the little spaces because the batter cannot get in there and you won’t have a sharp design then.

      If you get a chance to go to Big Lots they have a spray in a yellow can that is called Pure and Simple cooking spray that is buttery. They get it in about 3 times a year. I hoard it for my bread baking. I spray it in the pan and on top of batter bread before baking. I just bought some so it should be in the store near you. It really makes a nice crust and it is cheap.

      I hoped this helped.

      Like

      1. petit4chocolatier says:

        Thank you very much and I will look for the spray Pure and Simple. I would love to try again to make a bundt cake. Yours look perfect!! You are inspiring!

        Like

  2. flyfishbrat says:

    Wow, I have never made a bundt cake before. I’m thinking your recipe will be my first. Thanks for the lovely idea.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      This one is so easy and since you like the gooy butter cake you should like this one too. It is moist and yummy.

      Like

  3. Beautiful looking cake! Thanks for sharing! I love the name.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The name was my idea. It is a sugar cake that is very old fashion to use a tube pan and sprinkle sugar instead of flour over the shortening. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  4. That looks stunning my friend, delicious 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. But it is only a yellow cake mix with applesauce.

      Like

      1. Haha but the applesauce adds so much 😀

        Cheers
        CCU

        Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    The cake looks delicious. Is there a story behind the plate it is on? It looks really interesting.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I found it at a local Goodwill store. I paid less then $2 for it. It has that hand thrown and painted look to it. We have a large turn over of retirees here. When their families come to break up the final house keeping, most of the items are either sold in house sales and what is left is donated. Some cases the family keeps what they can afford to ship and donates the rest. The Goodwill’s in this area are very nice. When I started this blog I had to figure out how to post pictures. Once I did that I realized my pictures were not very eye catching. I looked at food pictures in magazines to see how they staged their pictures. So off to Goodwill I went to look for pretty dishes in bold colors and patterns. This cake plate was one I found in the last few months. I now go once a week to look. I never pay more then $2 and that has to be something nice like this cake dish. Most of the time the purchase is less then a $1. I try to find pairs of small plates and soup bowls. The 2 little plates, in the top picture, look like they may have been part of a Asian tea set. There was only 2 of them and their size is only 3 inches across so I bought them for their design and size. I have a box full now and when I am done with something that did not photogragh well, I take it back and donate it. I have some keepers that I really like for myself. Also I am only talking about a few dollars a week less then what some one would spend for a hambuger and fries. I have found holiday dishes that are going to be fun to use. I even have a couple of interesting dishes I found that I am trying to find a recipe to make to show them off. LOL. So that is the story behind my dishes.

      Like

  6. shadeydaze says:

    Looks delicious….I was only looking at a cake that used a bundt cake as it’s base the other day …don’t have a tin though so think I’m going to have to have a look around for one…..

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      If you have angel food cake tin that will work just fine. Thanks for your kind words and please come and visit again.

      Like

  7. This looks absolutely delicious. (I love Bundt cakes — so adorable.) Question: Often I’ll substitute applesauce for oil in a recipe, but clearly this “saucy” cake has no lack of applesauce already (which I love — yum!). If I wanted to cut down any amounts of oil, are there other substitutes you’d recommend? If not, no worries — we all need a little fat in our diets!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      This recipe came from a very old fund raiser cook book my mother had. The original recipe didn’t have oil in it. When I was copying it years ago she told me that when this cook book was made, cake mixes didn’t require eggs or oil. You just added water in them. They were rather dry so woment figured out to put eggs in them and oil to make them better so she told me to add oil to it. I see no reason why you couldn’t make this without oil. I did look up the history of cake mixes and yes they did come out first with only water needed in the batter. I may try it the next time without oil. Thanks for stopping in and for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

