Harvest Bread

 

Fall is just a few weeks away and it is time to do some planning for some fall baking. I am going to start this year off with Harvest Bread. It is an artisan bread with several surprise ingredients which makes it a very dense and hearty bread. Moreover it slices into thin slices just perfect for sandwiches and toast. It has a slightly sweet rustic flavor that complements tuna or chicken salad in a sandwich. Also goes well with chowders and cream soups.

I have made this bread several times and have not gotten much lift from the yeast. The whole wheat, rye flour and corn meal are heavy even with bread flour, so don’t get upset if it looks like it isn’t going to rise. It will just about double all total. Don’t try to extend the rise time thinking that is will continue to rise. You will only risk having the bread collapse while baking from being over proofed (raised time.) What it does develop a nice texture to the bread and flavor. There is pumpkin and molasses to give it a hint of sweetness and soften the dense texture, also it smells wonderful while baking.

Harvest Bread

  • 1 package active yeast
  • ¾ cup warm milk
  • ½ cup canned pumpkin
  • ¼ cup molasses
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons margarine melted
  • ¾ cup rye flour
  • ¾ cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup yellow corn meal
  • 1 ¼ cup bread flour

In a large mixing bowl combine yeast and warm milk(105 to 115 degrees.) Let stand for 5 minutes until yeast bubbles. Add pumpkin, molasses, salt, and margarine and mix with mixer until blended. Add rye flour, whole wheat flour and corn meal and mix with mixer until blended. Switch to dough hook or stir in by hand bread flour. If using dough hook, allow it to run until dough is elastic about 3 to 5 minutes. If mixing by hand, turn out on floured surface and kneed until elastic about 5 minutes.

Place in greased bowl and covered with plastic wrap and set in a warm draft free place to rise for about 45 minutes. Then roll out the width of bread pan and about 15 inches long on a floured surface. Roll up in jelly roll fashion starting from the narrow side. Place in a oiled bread pan or cookie sheet with seam side down. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 hour.

Bake for 45 minutes at 375 degrees. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes and turn out. Slice when cool.

Tip: I usually freeze the left over pumpkin from the can to use later. You should have a full cup left. Just thaw when ready to use.

I will be taking a continuing education coarse for the next week and a half in order to renew a profession state license I have. This also includes writing a test so I will probably not be on line until I am done. Then I will catch up on all the emails and every ones blogs. So until later this month, I will be back.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    Just to get you to start thinking about fall baking.

    Like

  2. This looks so doggone good! It reminds me of fall and I can hardly wait!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Fall is not long away. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. This looks amazing! I love making my own bread =)

    Like

  4. trkingmomoe says:

    It is good. It is something a little different in bread. Thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment.

    Like

  5. Well done as always!!! Looks good….

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I am going to try to lighten the bread a little by changing the amount of heavy flours in it without taking away the flavor. I have had this recipe for a long time.

      Like

  6. Oh My Oh My, I do not bake, I seldom cook but I LOVE the smell and taste of fresh bread and to his credit, “HE” likes to bake, he used to brew too but that is a story for another day…

    So did my grandfather, bake that is…eGAD, I “married” my grandfather! Well I did give to “HE” my grandfather’s baking apron, so I’m giving him this recipe too, and I will hope for the best but expect the worse. The worse has nothing to do with your recipe; it has to do with cleaning the kitchen.

    THANX moe..baking is SUCH a “Harvest” thing. AH…….Fall……. when leaves out here just hang around and look anemic.

    NOW LET’S MAKE SOME SOUP or CHILI! Ever made chili and served it with granny’s green apples….plus tequela of course? TASTES GREAT!

    I grew up on homemade soup from my grandparents at first and then graduated into soup, served from communes in Oregon…ones that put the pot on for a week or two, well it was for a very small period of time for me;
    but uhm uhm uhm… sigh

    I’m saving this recipe to my file called…believe it or not…recipes? It was your posts that started my new file. THANX again.

    xxx ooo. dru

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for the comment. I have a chili recipe posted you might like to look at. Soup is always fun.

      Like

  7. shadeydaze says:

    It looks delicious..you can see from the picture it’s a lovely dense looking loaf…I think this is going to be another one of your recipes I’m going to have to try ….thanks for sharing it 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is very dense. You may want to use less heavy flours and add more bread flour to just lighten it up a little. That would make it rise a little better. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  8. I absolutely love your blog posts and this recipe inspires me to sharpen my baking skills. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is very dense loaf. You can slice it very thin for sandwiches which is nice. Check back I am gong to post other bread recipes. I enjoy your comments. Thanks

      Like

  9. The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl says:

    I can’t wait to try this bread. It looks gorgeous. Good luck with your class.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is a good bread if you are watching your calories because you can cut it thin and it holds up in a sandwich without falling apart. I like it toasted in thin slices then some jelly on it. Thanks for stopping in and making a comments.

      Like

  10. Sheryl says:

    It looks delicious. I haven’t made anything using pumpkin yet this year–but will as soon as the weather cools off a little and it starts to feel like fall. I’m going to try to remember this recipe and come back and make it then.

    Good luck with your test!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. It is not hard test just time consuming.test.

      Like

  11. Welcome fall!!!
    That bread looks incredible and I wish I were baking some in my oven today instead of heading back to work. Yeast intimidates me a bit, but I have to get over that and try this bread!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Actually yeast is easy to work with. Just allow enough time to let it raise and follow directions. This bread is pretty dense and we are now used to the light commerical breads. Old world breads were much heavier. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      1. I’m a huge fan of the old world style of bread…especially home made. I hope to find a weekend soon for time to bake REAL bread!

        Like

  12. yepirategunn says:

    Always wanted to cook my own bread – will try this. We’ll see!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I am working on a lighter version of this bread. This current recipe is very dense. So check back.

      Like

  13. petit4chocolatier says:

    You have been very busy!! The molasses, bananas, pumpkin, and cornmeal together is amazing with rye flour! Looks delicious!!I have never baked with rye flour. It sounds so good!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I had to really look around to find it. I finally found it at Winn Dixi. I had to buy 5 pound bag of it. So now I have to think of breads to use it in. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

