Key West Salad

 

Here is another cool salad to make from Florida out of Jell-O. This is really good and good for you. It is refreshing to add to a meal on a hot day. It molds up easy for a great presentation to wow friends at a party or just chill in a 9 inch square baking dish. I originally adapted my version of this avocado lime salad from a 1958 summer pamphlet cook book from Good Housekeeping. If you look at the picture you will see it sold for $.39 and must have been a grocery store premium. This salad is pictured on the cover.

Vintage cook books that feature gelatin recipes for summer and parties.

One of the problems from recipes from this era you have to rework them because the can and package sizes have changed. Also you have to substitute products that no longer around. Here is my version of Key West Salad.

Key West Salad

  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 (6 oz) package lime Jell-O or 2 (3 oz) packages sugar free lime
  • 2 peeled, pitted avocado
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise or salad dressing
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup mandarin oranges drained
  • 4 or 5 ice cubes

In a large mixing bowl mash one avocado with beaters. Add cottage cheese , lemon juice, mayonnaise and salt. Beat until blended. Chop the other one and set aside. Drain oranges and set aside. Spray baking dish or 5 cup mold with butter or vegetable spray. Brush to make sure all the spaces are covered in spray. In another bowl add Jell-O and I cup of hot water, stir until dissolved. Add ice cubes and stir until thickened. Remove ice and quickly add to avocado mixture and beat until blended. Work quickly and add fruit and chopped avocados and stir in. Spoon into dish or mold. This sets up quickly because the cottage cheese is cold. Chill until set and serve. About a hour longer for the mold.

This is great with egg salad sandwiches or deviled eggs.  It is really a healthy dish to make and it tastes really good.

I found this copper colored mold in a resale thrift shop to hang on my kitchen wall.

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow! I have to go and purchase jello molds now! Love the Key West salad!!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. The best place to look for them is in the second hand shops and thrift stores. They can be very inexpensive and quite pretty. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      1. petit4chocolatier says:

        Thank you! I will look around this upcoming weekend. I haven’t made jello in awhile. I love the Key West salad and theme of a dinner or brunch!! You have wonderful ideas and an enjoyable blog.
        Appreciatively,
        judy

        Like

  2. Chef Emil says:

    I ALWAYS go to my vintage cookbooks for all my recipe ideas. The love, caring and pride that went into food creation and preparation is so very evident in those books. Your salads look so very devine! I am off to the kitchen to make one………..you have inspired me!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I had them all in a box under my bed and dug them out because I needed help with the food budget a few years ago. I needed good tasting low cost meals or at least a dish to make a low budget meal special and taste a little better. Thank you for stopping by and reading my post.

      Like

  3. This looks delicious! I purchased a couple of Tupperware molds at a yard sale a while back – and while I have been contemplating a Watergate salad, I think this one sounds so much more refreshing! I think we will have this sometime this week with some chicken egg rolls I’ve already made and frozen. Thanks!

    Like

  4. trkingmomoe says:

    It doesn’t have a real strong lime flavor to it. The cottage cheese really tones it down. I hope you enjoy it.

    Like

  5. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    Please enjoy. This is a really good tasting salad and is great to have on a hot day.

    Like

  6. flyfishbrat says:

    Love this blog. I have never ever used a jello mold. I remember seeing the finished product at Thanksgiving brought by an Aunt. We have 2 of them in the kitchen pantry. I’ll have to dig them up and give this recipe a try…maybe for Thanksgiving this year.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I just found a little copper mold of a pineapple at Goodwill that is just the right size for a small package of jello. I am going to use it tomorrow for strawberries and jello. When you check the size just fill it up with cups of water and see how many cups it takes to fill it up before you make the recipe. That way you can match the mold up with the recipe. Thanks for following me.

      Like

      1. flyfishbrat says:

        Thanks for the wonderful tip. I am on a quest now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

