Raised Yeast Doughnuts

Since I saved the oil from the potato doughnuts in the refrigerator by using a quart glass jar,  I decided to make raised doughnuts for the family on Sunday morning.  I was up early so they had time to rise.  This is a simple easy recipe and the only trouble I had was oil temperature.  I am going to look for a large deep electric skillet or a cheep deep fryer for me.  That way I can set the temperature.  The kids loved them and they eat them as quick as I made them.  I only had 3 left to photograph.  This recipe made a dozen doughnuts and a bunch of holes.

Raised Doughnuts

  • 1 package yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons melted margarine
  • 3/4 cup of warm milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange flavoring
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 1/2 cups of flour (extra for kneading and rolling)

In a large mixing bowl dissolve yeast in warm water.  Let stand until bubbles appear.  Add sugar, warm milk. melted margarine and beat for 30 seconds.  Add egg while beating.  Add flavoring, spice and 1 cup of flour mix with beaters until smooth.  Mix rest of flour by hand or with dough hook.  You can let the dough hook knead the dough for a couple of minutes after the dough comes together.  If working by hand you will have to turn the dough out on to a floured board and knead until smooth and elastic.  Cover dough in bowl and let rise until double and the indentation of two fingers remains when touched.  Turn out on floured board and roll out.  Cut doughnuts with cutter and place on floured cookie tray to rise another 30 minutes.  Fry at 350 degree oil in a deep sided skillet or deep fryer.  Slide doughnut s into hot oil using a spatula and turning over when lightly brown using a fork.  Brown on each side and remove.  Drain on a cookie rack and dust with powdered sugar or roll in cinnamon sugar.  Eat warm.  Makes about dozen and holes.

I saved the oil again after it cooled and placed back into the refrigerator.  I can still use it a couple of more times for fried doughnuts.  The oil is the expensive part of doughnuts.  I marked the jar lid with masking tape that I wrote on it for doughnuts only.  That way I keep the oil separate from the oil that I save from french fries.  Next week I will do a different type of doughnut for the family.

Once you get used to doing something like this it don’t seem like such a project.  Here locally the in store bakeries are keeping their price of doughnuts down by only giving you 8 in a box now.  The home-made ones seem to have so much more flavor and less air to them.  Now if you are expecting really soft doughnuts you will have to buy them.  But if you love fresh warm flavorful ones that melt in your mouth with some substance to them then give these a try.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    I hope you enjoy this recipe. Sorry I have been busy and have not had time to post any recipes.

    Like

  2. dikkday says:

    Again, if I touch yeast it dies. hahahahahahah
    I love donuts. hahahahahah
    but fat old men cannot ever eat donuts. hahahah
    except on feast days.

    the end

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      LOL…You have to be gentle with it. Next time use 2 packs of yeast and use some light flour too. Heavy flours like whole wheat and rye don’t rise very much. I live at sea level in the tropics, so I just set it on the hood of the car for about a half hour and “poof” it rises. I went shopping to a natural food store and found potato and rice flour. If you look on the side of your bread bag, you will see them listed. I bought some as a treat for being a good girl. It will be fun to blog about how I use them. I hope to find some graham flour too. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Mmmmm. Freshly made doughnuts on a Sunday morning. Can I have a sleepover some Saturday night? Please!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      LOL I have a full house. Making doughnuts are fun. The challenge keeps you on your cooking toes. Thanks for stopping by. I like your blog.

      Like

  4. shadeydaze says:

    They look delicious !!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks. The next time it snows, we could use some more pictures of snow to cool us down here in the US.

      Like

  5. Mmmmmmmm, doughnuts! Look freakin fantastic!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You are welcome to stop by anytime. There are more different kinds of doughnuts planned in the future. Thanks.

      Like

  6. Sheryl says:

    You think the same way I do–When I deep fry one thing, I always hate to throw the oil out, so I end up frying several things over the course of several days.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I just let it cool off and strain it into a quart glass jar, then I put a lid on it so I can store it in the refrig. It will keep for weeks that way. I will use it many times before I throw it away. I usually get about 6 times out of the oil I use to fry doughnuts. I just add a little to it each time I use it. Foods that have a strong flavor to them, I have that oil saved in another jar. I just made onion rings the other day and I used oil that was saved from chicken strips. The oil still looked good so I strained it back into it’s jar. It takes a while for the oil to break down. Thanks for stopping by. Your thoughts are always welcome.

      Like

  7. I haven’t made doughnuts in years!! I might have to make them and take them to school for some of the teachers I work with. I know they would love them…..

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      thanks for stopping by. It is fun to make every once in a while.

      Like

  8. Ralph says:

    Yummy !! Can I have one? 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Yes you may. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      1. Ralph says:

        I’ll be Mum and pour the coffee then.
        Sugar? Milk? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

