Pork Chops and Apples

 

Over the last month there has been many food blogs on controlling costs in food budgets.  To be frank, prices are rising on food and from the recent news,  it is going to continue because of the hot dry summer.  The economic depression has changed the way many of us now shop and eat.  Now on top of that we have a major drought effecting our farmers.  It look like it is going to be a challenge for many cooks to put creative and low-cost meals on the table this coming year.  Also many working away from home is challenged to have meals planned and ready for busy  evenings when there is no time to cook.

I find it exciting that so many have taken to blogging and discussing ways of coping with the new reality.  Here on word press you can follow blogs that give tips and advice on how to stock the food pantry, on how to make meals ahead and find recipes that are low-budget.  I am learning from so many of the ideas that are being posted and I hope my followers are also searching and reading others here at word press.

One of the ways that I find myself stretching my food dollar is smaller portions of meat.  Many of you have probably noticed that chops and steaks are cut thinner in the meat cases at the grocery.  I have taken advantage of that so I can continue to serve pork chops that my family loves.  Which leads to how to make the meat entrée look larger than it is?   My family usually notices when there is less meat and likes to complain about it. They didn’t seem to notice the thin pork chops when I served apples and pork chops and I was waiting for all the little snarks about thin chops.  Instead I received complements on how good the apples tasted with the chops.  This is a simple dish that only takes 30 minutes to make from start to finish and goes well with buttered noodles and a green vegetable.  This meal holds the line on cost and is fast to make for busy days.

Pork Chops and Apples

  • Roll Chops in seasoned flour
  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • 1 small onion sliced thin
  • 2 or 3 apples paired and sliced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning or sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple pie or pumpkin pie seasoning.
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar

In large skillet with tight lid, brown floured chops in oil with sliced onion turning once on each side.  Remove chops and add apples, water, spices and brown sugar to skillet.  Stir a little to mix and bring to boil.  Return chops to skillet reduce heat and cover with tight-fitting lid and simmer for 10 minutes until apples are translucent.

Buttered Pasta and Broccoli

Cook 1/2 pound of pasta according to directions on the package and drain.  In the meantime steam broccoli until tender and drain.  Mix 2 tablespoons of butter with hot pasta and broccoli.  Sprinkle a 1/2 cup of seasoned Panko bread crumbs and 1/4 cup a parmesan cheese on pasta mixture and toss.   Serve as a quick and easy side dish.

The next time you are shopping and notice very thin pork chops add them to your food cart with a couple of apples and try this entrée.

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    Something different and good to eat.

    Like

  2. changeforbetterme says:

    looks and sounds good…..as for finding ways to lower your grocery costs….I found going back to the recipe books of the great depression helps with that….now those people knew how to make groceries stretch and yet still serve tasty wholesome food! (I use and blog about my grandmother’s 1928 cookbook)

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I have a collection of old cook books starting in the early 1930’s. I have hung on to them for years. They now are important as a reference to my cooking. I also like the old fund raising cook books that show up in thrift stores and yard sales. There is always great stuff in them. Have you noticed the interest in simple cooking from scratch? There are some young bloggers that write about their discoveries in the simple art of plain cooking. They are fun to read on wordpress.

      Like

      1. changeforbetterme says:

        yes I have noticed the trend of the younger bloggers cooking “plain”….I just smile thinking I’ve been doing that for years! 😉

        Like

  3. shadeydaze says:

    Sounds delicious..,,

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. I have my celery in a shallow dish of water in the window. This will be fun to see if it grows. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. It looks so good!! 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I enjoy your blog.

      Like

      1. Welcome. I enjoy yours as well

        Like

  5. Liz says:

    This looks great. Wow!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. It has been a while since I made this. I just might have to do that this week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

