Salsa Cheese Dinner Rolls (Quick Yeast)

This week I bought two jars of salsa on sale and some corn chips. I put one jar in the cupboard and opened the other one for the chips. Well someone opened the other jar so I had to think what was I going to do with all this salsa now that the chips were gone. While I was contemplating, I remembered a I had a bread machine recipe book. Now I have not had a bread machine in about 6 years. I really didn’t like the thing anyways and was glad to see it break. My former husband was always trying to make bread because his mother had a machine and loved it. This is Florida and when it gets hot it sometimes affects how fast bread rises so he had many of loaves fail him. They simply over proofed and collapsed while baking because of the timing of the machine. Also I could not convince him that you don’t use self rising flour either. I had to stop buying self rising because he could not read the label on the container that said self rising. But I remembered in the book that there was a recipe using salsa and cheese. After reading it through I decided I could adapt it to batter bread.

Batter bread is a no knead bread that is quick to make. It is a good hot weather bread to make because it rises fast. Once I had decided on the recipe, the next step was I going to put it in a pan, casserole or make rolls. Rolls certainly sounded fun and different for a change. So I dug out my muffin pans and got them prepped with flour spray. This time of year one rise is enough and I like the coarser texture for this because of the corn meal that is in the bread.  Now here is my recipe for tomato salsa cheese batter bread rolls.

Quick Yeast Tomato Salsa Cheese Dinner Rolls

  • 1 package of fast acting yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 cup yellow corn meal
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tablespoons parsley or cilantro flakes

Note# There is no salt because the salsa contains enough salt to control the yeast.

In a large mixing bowl pour warm water and mix in sugar. Then sprinkle the dry yeast on top. Let it sit for about 15 minutes until it is bubbly. This is call a yeast sponge. Now mix in 2 cups of flour, oil and salsa and mix with electric mixer for 3 minutes. This will help develop the gluten in the flour. If your mixer is not heavy duty I would stir the rest in by hand. Now add corn meal, cheddar cheese and spice flakes. Stir or mix until smooth and elastic. The dough will be very sticky and stretchy. Let the dough rest for about 10 minutes that will give you time to clean up and wash your hands because you are going to use your hands to put the dough in the muffin cups. This recipe makes about 12 large muffins.

Fill the muffin cups half full to ¾ full with dough. You do this by grabbing a handful and letting it stretch until it breaks free of the rest of the batter. Just pat it into the cup with your fingers. Repeat until you have used up all the batter. Let rise until double about 45 minutes. I set my timer for 30 minutes and then turn on my oven so it is ready to go. Then set the timer again for about 15 minutes. You have to use your judgment to make sure they have risen enough. Bake at 350 degrees for 27 minutes until done. They will be a light brown and sound hollow when you tap on them. If you are using muffin tins that do not have a dark finish or seasoning on them the muffins will be light on the bottom. Dark pans brown better.  ( In the picture the front rolls were from a Wearever 1950’s muffin pan that is light aluminum the rest was from teflon coated pans.)

Well the family ate half of them right after I took the picture while they were still warm. They had a nice savory taste and smell to them. They would go great with beef stew or corn beef and cabbage.  It doesn’t hurt to think out of the box when you are short of money to create dishes that save food from being wasted.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    Wonderful savory and quick yeast roll. Give it a try and enjoy.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on The Womanly Arts and commented:
    I’m definitely making these. I wonder if they freeze well? We’ll eat half and freeze half and I’ll report how it goes.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      They should keep ok for a few weeks in the freezer. I usually find that bread keeps only about 30 days as a rule of thumb before they take on freezer taste. I used a very mild salsa from Taco Bell. These rolls have an artisan bread texture to them. They are not real soft and fine grained like regular dinner rolls. Thanks for stopping by and for reblogging this. Good luck with all those meals you are going to make this weekend or Monday.

      Like

  3. dikkday says:

    Note# There is no salt because the salsa contains enough salt to control the yeast.

    Great recipe.

    I underline this salt reference. If you have enough of one flavor–especially salt for fat old men–you have to take that into account.

    Also, it is fine and dandy to create ab nihilo but when a commodity goes on sale–take advantage!

    Again, nutrition, calorie requirements for young folks and cost!

    Always a great message Momoe!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Salt helps control the speed of the yeast production. It is a must in using a bread machine or your bread will fall. Too much salt will retared the growth of yeast and no salt can lead to over population of yeast and the colony dies from famine(over proofed). I hope that makes sense to you. That also explains why you should always bake with unsalted butter so you can control the amount of salt in the recipe.

      Like

    2. trkingmomoe says:

      Oh Richard, thanks for the encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

