Applesauce Jello Salad (Cool Summer Salad)

 

It is blazing hot right now and that means too hot to cook.  Here is a refreshing and easy salad to make that you can do.

Applesauce Jello Salad

  • 2 cups applesauce
  • 1  3 oz. package of jello
  • 1/2 cup juice, cream soda, ginger ale or water
  • 1 cup of fruit

Heat applesauce until hot.  Mix jello with hot applesauce in large bowl.  Stir until jello is dissolved. Then add liquid and chopped fruit.  Chill and serve on lettuce.

I added pineapple chunks and nuts to the one that is pictured.  Sometimes I will grate carrots and chop celery real fine to add to the jello mixture.  It is what ever you have on hand.

This is surprisingly good for being so simple.  Jello is something you can always do when you are out of ideas and out of money.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    This can be also done with sugar free jello and unsweetened applesauce. A nice addition to your diet without the calories.

    Like

  2. Sheryl says:

    Jello is the perfect food on hot summer days. I made some jello with fruit earlier today. It’s the first time I’ve made it in years–but it tasted really good. And, then I clicked on your blog and saw this recipe. I’ll have to try it soon.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I had several boxes in my cupboard and thought it is about time I use these, with the extreem heat up north, jello would be a good blog. I am going to do some history on it in a post. But first I want to make a really nice mold for a picture. It may take a try or two. Jello molds do take some skill. Thanks for stopping by and congratulations on your nomination for an award.

      Like

      1. Sheryl says:

        I haven’t quite figured out the molding part. I tried to do it, using a bowl as a mold; but it slid out of the mold sideways when I tried to unmold it and ended up looking like a blob. But, none the less, it tasted good.

        Like

  3. I’ve never heard of making jello with applesauce. It is so hot that I will definitely make this as a cooling desert.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      It is such an easy thing to make. It is what ever you have on hand to put in it.

      Like

  4. dikkday says:

    First of all, pineapple is magic!

    Canned or cut out from one of those pine covered bulbs. ha!

    I think I commented already at your blog but this jello thing really gets to me and I am going to try it out next month.

    I just know, going over the ingredients, that there is something wonderful about this!

    The price is cheap.

    But I still think I have missed something.

    I had no idea Jello (which I always thought of as nothingness) can really add to a dessert.

    Well done!

    Like

  5. My mom makes one like this except use one cup water and one cup applesauce. Heat the water and dissolve some redhot candies in it. Add the jello and stir well. Once it is all dissolved add the applesauce and chill. The fruit is optional. The spicy sweet is a great combination.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Gee…what a good idea. That would add a little kick to it. Sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier. Thanks so much for sharing and stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

