Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

This is a really easy cake to make with lots of flavor.  It is made from a yellow cake mix, orange jello, orange juice and one square of bakers semi sweet chocolate.  Chocolate and orange are natural complimenting flavors.  This past month I have found cake mixes on sale and have stocked up on them because you can’t make them from scratch at the price I have been buying the mix at.  This is a cake I like to do for Halloween but with the hot weather this is a nice treat with ice cream or ice tea.  The cake was sprinkled with sugar glitter and the white specks in the picture is the reflection off of the sugar glitter.  My grand daughter calls it fairy dust because it is light little flakes not like colored sugar sprinkles.

Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Spray bundt pan with Baker’s Joy spray .

  • 1 package yellow cake mix
  • 1 (3 oz.) package orange jello
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1 square semi sweet baker’s chocolate melted

Mix all ingredients but chocolate.  Beat the orange batter for 2 minutes.  Mix one cup of batter in a small bowl with melted chocolate.  Pour some orange batter in the bottom of bundt pan, then make a well with the back of a spoon all the way around to put the chocolate batter in.  Spoon chocolate batter into well and top with the rest of the orange batter.  Tap the bundt pan on the counter a few times so the bubbles will come to the top and the batter will settle in the bundt pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean.  Wait about 5 to 10 minutes to remove cake from pan.  Dust with powder sugar or sugar glitter.  Cool before cutting.

I put some orange food coloring into this cake mix to make it darker orange.  I wasn’t sure how it would photograph.  I usually use the orange food coloring for Halloween and use a different bundt pan to make it spooky.  Enjoy.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Reblogged this on Once Upon a Paradigm and commented:

    A yummy treat to go with ice cream or fruit on a hot day.

    Like

  2. dikkday says:

    See you are cooking for kids. hahahaha Again!

    I have to stop eating stuff like this, but…

    You are right, these mixes can be so cheap…as long as you check the sales at the local grocer and you have some imagination!

    I will say this, children are precious and deserve ‘treats’, I grew up with treats. Usually a couple hours after dinner and just before bed.

    So on a budget, creativity begins!

    I love the idea of mixing cheap jello and cheap cake mixes. This is delightful!

    Eggs always work! Why is that? And look at how many servings you get from such a cheap mix of mixes! ha

    Strawberries and raspberries are so very cheap again up here–tis the season. So I cheat and for four bucks I get one container of each and get to throw them in the oatmeal. What a treat for me and I can rationalize it all.

    But your blog so far is what I hoped for really.

    How can one feed a family for cheap but not cheaply.

    I still cannot get over it. Jello and cake mix. ha!

    Hell, you could be a baker!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Mixing jello in box cakes is nothing new. You should see what some of the foodies with blogs are doing with cake mixes. I copied a recipe for birthday pan cakes made with cake mix last week following one of my followers. Can you imagine what it would be like for a child to have pan cakes from a cake mix for breakfast on their birthday with sprinkles and sweet gravy. I think I made the decision to do this blog here because there is so many here at wordpress that are into cooking or trying to improve their cooking skills. I would not had as much fun with this at dag. Everyone is so freindly and nice.

      Like

  3. scottymak says:

    Looks Delicious.

    Like

  4. I love orange or raspberry and chocolate! I never knew what those flower shaped pans were for. I knew it was some kind of cake but since I’m still learning to cook…..well, I didn’t want to ask anyone. Thanks for straightening that out for me! 🙂

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      The pan is Nordicware. They make many different bundt cake pans. They are easy to use and clean. This pan makes a regular box cake into a beautiful cake with only a dusting of powder sugar. You don’t have to be a great cook to have success with these pans.

      Like

      1. That’s the kind of pan I need! 🙂 The one where I don’t have to be a great cook.

        Like

  5. Alexis Favis says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and following. Your recipes remind me of my grandma’s comfort foods. Look forward to trying some of them!

    Like

  6. quilt32 says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and introducing me to yours. The cake sounds wonderful.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

