Blueberry Muffins (Comfort Food)

We have been eating blueberries the past few days on cereal for breakfast and it was time to finish off the blueberries before they spoil.  After I cleaned them, I still had a full cup of them, so I thought of muffins.  That is probably because of all the blogs posted about muffins.  I wanted these to be more like a quick bread muffin and not the sugary and cake type you find at the bakery in the grocery store.  So I adjusted my basic muffin recipe for blueberries and less sweet.  They turned out great with just the right crumb and lightness.  Alton Brown would be proud of me.  He did a whole show on muffins explaining why they are muffins and not cup cakes if they are made from a true muffin recipe.

I chose to make the muffins this time in my heart muffin/cup cake pans.  They were a bargain find after Valentine’s Day several years ago.  I just happen to be in a local hobby shop after some poster board and saw them marked down 75%.  So it only took a second to impulse buy them and I bought 2 because I knew it was a pain in the butt to have only one 6 muffin pan. I have bought a few other pans like that after a holiday. I only purchase ones that I can really get some use out of and they have to be really, really cheap.  Having a few fun things to bake with helps make cooking less of a chore when your budget it limited. It gives a basic diet some pizazz that otherwise would not be there.

Blueberry Muffins

Preheat oven 400 degrees and grease 12 muffin cup pan or use vegetable spray.

Mix together:

1 egg beaten

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup milk

1/3 cup sugar

Sift together:

2 cups of flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

3 teaspoons of baking powder

Gently stir in the flour mixture into the wet ingredients just until they are moistened.

Then gently fold in:

1 cup of blueberries.

Fill 12 muffin cups with batter.  You can sprinkle with a streusal topping or colored sugar if desired. Bake for 20 minutes.

Streusal Topping

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter

Mix with hands until blended and crumbly. Sprinkle on muffins.

Please give this recipe a try when you have a few blueberries.

Cross Posted to Once Upon a Paradigm

3 Comments Add yours

  1. dikkday says:

    GOD! I bet those kids just love these!

    Like

  2. I am a huge fan of the heart muffin pan! I always see it at the store but then remember I really don’t have space to store it. Now that I see those muffins, I just might have to find space to store it!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      These pans are Wilton pans. They are great and so easy to clean. This year after Valintine’s day I was able to buy two heart shaped donut pans made by Wilton. That launched me into looking for recipe for baked donuts recipe here at word press. What I have found is lot of freinds who enjoy cooking as much as me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

