Banana Muffins

Traditional recipe for banana muffins made from scratch using common ingredients in your pantry and ripe bananas. Quick and easy to mix up can be made without fuss for breakfast.  Nice alternative to pancakes on a lazy morning.

Banana muffins did not become a part of American cuisine until the second half of the 20th century.  Last night when I was looking for a scratch recipe for the muffins I could not find a recipe in any of my old cook books.  I had always made the Bisquick recipe off of the back of the box.  No wonder, I didn’t have one until I bought my last cook book a few years ago. There are so many recipes for banana muffins on the internet that it is easy to find one but they are really creative with the ingredients that you may not have on hand.  Many of the new cook books have muffin recipes that go way over board with fat and sugar not counting on things like imported spices not commonly found at the local store.

The old cook books start to show banana bread in the 1930’s but the muffins are simple quick breads slightly sweeten.  Most common is corn muffins and raisin muffins.  Later you see fruited muffins like blueberry and apple in cook books.  According to Wikipedia, Chiquita Banana Co promoted recipes for banana’s in their 1950 little cook book.  I know in the late 1950’s Bisquick add the banana muffin recipe on the back of their box and I started making banana muffins in the summer time when I was home from school. For years they kept it on the back of their box.  Banana muffins, dumplings and shortcake was the things I made from Biquick.  That was why I bought it.

Banana Muffins

  • Servings: 12 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup mashed banana
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons soften butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven 400 degrees and grease or spray 12 muffin cup pan.  Do not use paper cup cake liners the muffins will stick to them when you eat the muffins

Beat wet ingredients with mashed banana until well blended. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Stir in by hand all the dry ingredients all at once until just moistened and lumpy. The lumps give the muffins their texture.  Spoon into greased muffin cups and bake at 400 degrees for 16-18 minutes.  Cool 5 minutes and flip out of pan to finish cooling.  Mini muffins only take half the time to bake so set the timer for them at 8 minutes.

You might like these muffin recipes:

https://trkingmomoe.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/blueberry-muffins-comfort-food/

https://trkingmomoe.wordpress.com/2017/06/21/applesauce-bran-muffins-with-raisins/

https://trkingmomoe.wordpress.com/2018/11/18/banana-cranberry-muffins/

https://trkingmomoe.wordpress.com/2018/12/14/blueberry-and-banana-muffins/

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheryl says:

    I enjoyed reading the contextual information about banana bread. The bread looks delicious. I’ll have to try the recipe sometime soon.

    Like

  2. trkingmomoe says:

    Thank you. Your grandmothers diary is a great read. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    I can see why you love your pans…the muffins look great.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      Thank you. Nordicware makes great baking pans. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      1. Karen says:

        I have a Nordicware small bundt pan that I like. Perfect when you want a smaller dessert.

        Like

  4. trkingmomoe says:

    That was the first one I bought about 20 years ago was the 6 cup bundt pan. I like the rose pans too. The cake is very pretty when it is made up and you don’t have to ice it. I also have the rose cup cake pan too. I get plenty of use out of them and get to show off when I take a cake to a pot luck, A simple box cake or plain muffin really can be something special baked in a fancy Nordicware pan. They still look as nice as the day I bought them.

    Like

  5. dikkday says:

    I already replied to this blog. Anyway…

    Sounds delicious!

    Like

  6. Love the muffin pan! Very unique way to present them!

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      You can get them from Nordicware on line. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a comment