Banana French Toast

 

It is Saturday morning and the coffee is on and you are hungry. What to fix for breakfast? There sits a couple of bananas and a half a loaf of home bread about to go stale.  Why not banana french bread.  It is easy and you have a few eggs in the refrigerator.  It is yummy and fits into your diet. Just get out the non stick skillet and the vegetable spray to get started.

Banana French Toast

  • 1 banana mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of flavoring (vanilla, butter, caramel, banana or walnut)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon or nutmeg (optional)

Cut banana into small pieces into a mixing bowl.  Mash on slow speed until mashed. Add rest of the ingredients and mix on medium speed until blended.  Spray griddle or skillet and heat on medium heat.  When hot, dip bread into banana mixture using your hand to hold the bread together making sure both sides get covered. Lay on hot pan carefully.  Brown on both sides.  This should make enough for 2 people.

I like to double  the amounts of the recipe to make more than I need.  It freezes well.  Just lay cooked toast on a small cookie sheet and freeze, then place in freezer bag for later meals.  The frozen toast can be heated in the oven or microwave. It really doesn’t need syrup because the banana makes it sweet so it fits into many diets.  My family likes syrup no matter what kind of french toast I make.

Last weekend my local PBS Create channel had a cooking show on that featured french toast.  The cooks there were testing all kinds of bread to see which was the best for french toast.  French toast has always been away to use up bread that was going stale or was stale not so much a gourmet food.  Just old fashion comfort food and a way to stretch a food budget.  Well my breakfast is getting cold.  Thanks for stopping in.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dikkday says:

    I missed this.
    I was alerted but misunderstood the alert.

    This is great.

    You are much better at blogging than I am.

    Oh, and somewhere in the email you asked me how to repost.

    I really just start from scratch.
    I write my thoughts and links and quotes on this Word clone I got on my pc.

    Then I just post it and edit it and add pix and videos.

    And if I repost I just start all over again, beginning with my word essay.

    Like

    1. trkingmomoe says:

      I found all of this confusing at first. They had changed things around since I had done this last. So I have been flying by the seat of my pants. I get all these alerts all day on my android phone from word press. Then I had to figure out what it was all about like the moderation that I have to do on this site. Liz does it on paradigm. So here I sit at 4 in the morning going through email that is from blogging. I have followers on both sites. I still have to check out all the bloggers that are following me. I go to their sites and let them know if I like their blog too. If it is really good I comment. I won award for my blogs on paradigm. We can have it posted permently on the page to the left. It is really cute little award. I am now supposed to nominate 5 people that are blogging about cooking for the next award. Here you fellows blog your hearts out for months on end and I post recipes for a week and get award. Go figure. But when Liz see it she will be tickled pink with it. Paradigm is her baby. That is why I didn’t turn it down. They gave me a choice if I wanted it. So I gave it to paradigm. I take pictures of dinner everyday and the kids want to know why. lol I have an old digital camera that I bought 15 years ago that I am using. i don’t have the money for a little new one. I have to take about 5 pictures to get a good one. LOL.

      Like

Leave a Reply

