Cottage Cheese Dilly Batter Bread

Doesn’t this sandwich look good!  It was made from home made yeast batter bread.  This a quick and easy recipe that anyone can make that fits into a small budget and adds plenty of nutrition to a meal.  What is always nice about making bread yourself is, there is no additives or artificial anything in it.  The bread contains cottage cheese as the fat and a Little dill weed, dill seed and minced onion from your spice rack  The ingredients can be found in your local store.  When I mix this batter bread I use my mixer with dough hooks but I will give the directions for mixing it without a heavy duty mixer.  I have had this classic recipe for a very long time. So long …that when I recently recopied my recipe card because the card was so beat up, that the recipe called for I cake of yeast.   Gee… when did I last see a cake of yeast in the store dairy case, the late 1960’s?  I usually make a double batch because my family pounces on this like starving wolves.  I have young grand children that live with me so I don’t put the dill and onion in the first loaf. I just mix up the bread without the spices doubling the amounts of the ingredients then take half of the dough and put it in a prepared bread pan.  Then I add the dill and onion to the rest of the batter in the bowl and place it in a pan.  As another blogger recently wrote ” it’s a mix, plop, and bake bread.”  There is no kneading of this bread.  The recipe calls for you to let it rise once before you place it in the baking pan for a second rise.  I found I could skip that because my family doesn’t care about a fine grained texture, and letting rise and stirring it down for a second rise make a finer textured. So let’s get baking.

Cottage Cheese Dilly Batter Bread

  • 2 to 2 1/2 cups of flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons instant minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon dill weed
  • 1 teaspoon dill seed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon backing soda
  • 1 package of dry active yeast
  • 8 oz. carton ( 1 cup) cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon margarine or butter
  • 1 egg
  • Coarse salt (optional Topping)

Pre heat oven 350 degrees and prepare a bread loaf pan or casserole baking dish with vegetable spray or shortening. In a small bowl or cup add yeast to 1/4 cup of warm water let sit for a few minutes until it gets bubbly. In a large bowl, combine I cup flour, sugar, onion, dill, salt, and baking soda. Mix well and set aside.  Warm cottage cheese in microwave to remove the chill from it.  It doesn’t have to be warm just room temperature about 1 a minute in microwave.  Add yeast mixture, cottage cheese, and beaten egg in mixing bowl and blend at medium speed until blended.  Add only one cup of flour mixture and beat on slow speed.  By hand stir in remaining flour to form a stiff batter.  You can do this with dough hooks if you have this feature on your mixer.  Cover. let rise until light and double in size. Stir Down. Place in a prepared bread loaf pan or casserole.  Let rise to top of the edge of the bread pan or double the size in the casserole. Brush top with melted butter or margarine and sprinkle with coarse salt.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Image

Yeast is ready to mixed with.  This is called a yeast sponge.

Image

This is the consistency of the batter when it is finished mixing.  It is sticky and moist.

Image

The batter is so sticky and soft that you won’t have a smooth top when first placing it in the pan but it will smooth out when rising.

Tip…1 usually spray pam on the top of the batter to keep it from sticking to the plastic wrap that I cover the pan with while rising.  If you forget you will have a mess.  I don’t use a towel to cover batter bread because it is too sticky even if you spray it with pam.  Enjoy until the next time.

Leave a Reply

